Mile After Mile, A Poem

on

The early morning song of birds
Echoes among the trees
And other voices answer in the wind
The sweet song of day’s longing
Where summer branches
Hang heavy with leaves
And squirrels chirp,
Cry out in warning
I can hear the sound of their claws
Skittering up the trees
For we have broken the silence
The crunch of pebbles beneath our feet
Our heavy breaths, betray our silent hearts
For we are here – to soak up everything.
The sun slowly rises in the sky
Beads of sweat upon our brow
But we know no worry
And though tired in body, we are not in spirit
We tarry on along the path
Resolved to find the sound of our hearts
The gentle sigh of beauty held in our chest
The reflection of the landscape at water’s edge
Deep verdant hills of green leaves that glisten
And swathes of cloud filled sky
Azure blue jewels and white puffed tresses
That sway in the gentle breeze
Gentle ripples trace their existence
And I – I am standing on the edge of the lake
For I see my image too – an echo of myself
I can trace the lines – a hint of smile
Held in beauty’s lingering embrace
And I know that this is where I find meaning
Where the silence whispers to open heart
Where the sway of leaves romance my soul
Where the gentle ripples seduce my dreams
And I find myself – heartbroken in its absence
I always hunger for its tranquil presence
Within me – and within the scene
Splayed forth across the horizon
Our hearts renewed – mile after mile.

© Sumyanna 2016

5 Comments Add yours

  1. FaizaK says:

    Extremely beautiful and well penned.

    Like

    1. sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much FaizaK. I truly appreciate that!

      Like

  2. reminds me of my hiking days, sigh i miss those much..this is beautiful with many amazing lines Sum…my favourite one is ‘Our heavy breaths, betray our silent hearts’ outstanding as always ..love hugs 💕

    Like

    1. sumyanna says:

      Oh, please do tell Seema. Where did you go hiking -in Japan? It sounds lovely. I have missed my hiking days as well, but hopefully they are going to start soon now that the warmer weather is here. Thank you highly!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. i went hiking almost every autumn while in Japan,i have reached the summit always and took pictures of my achievement,i really loved hiking,i miss that most and the drive to get to the hills would always be breathtakingly beautiful,it resides in my heart …love hugs ♥

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

