Portrait Poetry Series #2: The Rest of the World is Asleep

Portraits Series

The Rest of the World is Asleep

The morning was still and quiet
Only the sound of waves
Gently rocking creaking boats
No one was present
Only my small frame
Sat upon the docks
Cheek gently resting
Upon open hand
I love –
Moments like these
When all is still
And I am all alone
Where mist swirls
And lends to the mystery
Of the moment
And the fresh ocean air
Fills my lungs
Where the silences
Speak louder than words
My heart song
Gentle and sweet
Reflective –
Reflecting me
My thoughts . . .
My dreams . . .
And I get lost
In the moment
Where the rest of the world
Is either asleep or sleeping
Silent – with nothing much to say
And I am lost in the silence
That speaks louder than words.

© Sumyanna 2016

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh Sum,such wonderful imagery,i was lost for a while,though i love solitude and silence i live nowhere near a peaceful place..sigh but i do relate..beautiful as always …love hugs 💕

    Like

    1. sumyanna says:

      Thank you. I don’t live in a place like that – but I do get to visit sometimes. I hold those memories close. Truly love places like that where all is quiet in the world except for life. It keeps me going …

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This really speaks to me.

    Like

    1. sumyanna says:

      So glad I am not alone 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I live near the beach.. so I can really relate to the pleasure of solitude. I would love it if you could drop by my blog too and share your opinion.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. sumyanna says:

          Will be glad to do so. I do not live near the ocean, but we try to go as often as we can. My heart lingers there even when I cannot be present. Thanks!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

