Historical Portrait Poetry Series: Thoughts on Segretation

Historical Portraits

 

All of the poetry I have written for this series are narrative poems based on Historical events, whether in the past or present.

 

You see them sitting happily
All smiles on the bus
Whites in front
The rest pushed back
And somehow
They manage a smile
Pocketbooks clutched tightly
Against white skin
How can they not understand?
I suffocate at the idea
The world closes in
And the air tastes stale
Bitterness swallowed
How my heart quakes
I know not how
I could have lived
In such a time
My voice raised
My heart quavering
I would have stood up
And despite my white skin
I would have sat in the back
Perhaps hated by those I sat with
And bludgeoned by those in the front
But no matter what
I know I would have willingly died
For what I believe in.

© Sumyanna 2015

4 Comments Add yours

  1. i would do the same…it’s great that you wrote this Sum…love hugs

    Like

    1. sumyanna says:

      So glad you say so – but I know that about you as well. Such a hard thing to go through. Thank you sweet Seema!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. SlàRueB says:

    If there is a conscience sometimes it is better to be hated for doing what’s right than living with feelings of guilt for doing nothing at all. Thank you for this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sumyanna says:

      So very true. I cannot imagine keeping quiet about injustice. So glad you liked it SlaRueB.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

