Where Compassion is Grown, A Poem

Is it a sad state of affairs
When you feel better
Knowing . . .
You’re not the only one?
When you find comfort
Knowing . . .
Others have suffered?
I cannot help but feel
A little guilty –
For none, I’d dare
To wish upon
To know my pain
And even I know
I’ve barely
Scratched the surface
For others suffer more
Oh, were it up to me
I’d be a surgeon
And seal the wounds up tight
Make them faded memories
And let beauty shine more bright
Sometimes the world
Is harsh and hard
And I can only dream
That somehow
We find comfort there
Despite the need to scream
And though you just may never know
What’s hid inside my heart
If you have ever suffered much
Know we’re not that far apart
And if you find some comfort in
Knowing you’re not alone
Then I feel purpose dwells within
Any pain that I have known.

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Image courtesy of Morguefile (TrisOfficial)

4 Comments Add yours

  1. love this …the last line shows your big heart..love hugs always Sum

    Like

    1. sumyanna says:

      Thank you Seema. It’s never easy – but I feel it is important. Same here Seema. Miss you and hope all is going well.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sum….you’re in my heart and i can read you anytime here,some poems i come back to you know …i don’t miss you because of that,you’re always in my heart…God bless you my dearest friend,i’m thankful to the Almighty for a gift in you ♥

        Like

        1. sumyanna says:

          So glad. I also love to peruse your work. It is much easier on a blog, I think. I am ever so thankful as well – life is never easy and it is all the more difficult to find a good friend.

          Like

Leave a Reply

