Portrait Poetry Series #5: Would I be Different?

on

Portraits Series

 

I have dreams
One day
To cross the ocean
To see –
What I’ve never seen
To hear waves slap
Against the distant shore
Of some other place
Where the language spoken,
Is not my own
And I can fumble
In the beauty
Of the unknown.
Who will I be
When I get there?
Will I be me –
Unchanged?
Or will my soul
Change its song
For another?
These things I ponder
As the sound of waves
Slapping the shore
Lulls my heart
The call of gulls overhead
Speak to my soul
The cool, ocean air
Fills my lungs
And makes me dream.

© Sumyanna 2016

4 Comments Add yours

    1. sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much readinpleasure! So glad you stopped by 🙂

      Like

  1. beautiful..love this Sum…love hugs

    Like

    1. sumyanna says:

      Thank you so much Seema. So glad you do – and hugs back at you (but multiplied) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

