Portrait Poetry Series #6: I Dream in Colors

on

Portraits Series

I dream in colors
strong and vivid
I smell. . .
the scent of flowers
it floats in the air
arrests the senses
a gentle tug
toward peaceful thoughts
and I am there.
I hear the sound
of girls at play
their hushed laughter
and bashful hands
held toward giant smiles
they run and play
tirelessly
happily
and they’d rather spend
their time
no other way
but together
under the sun
and I am there
smiling and laughing
running and playing
bashful smile upon my face
hidden by older hands
as they become youthful again.
Some may say
I should rather sit
with the women
and chatter
about nonsense
but I am adrift
in a dream
and I decide
how I spend my time.
Perhaps later,
I’ll pick flowers
from the lilting trees
and place them in my hair
and though asleep,
I will smile
running through the wind
holding my hat upon my head
shielding the sun
and basking in the glow
of the afternoon
running
and playing
laughing
and singing
wise as the elders
but youthful as a child
soaking in every moment
every tick of the clock
every sigh
for in dreams, I am alive.

(c) Sumyanna 2016

2 Comments Add yours

  1. beautiful,i’d do the same,i dislike chatting ,i’d rather run or read your poetry or write some myself 🙂 love this poem Sum…love hugs

    Like

    1. sumyanna says:

      Oh, another thing we have in common 🙂 Love hugs…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

