I’ve Been Prompted #1

Prompts

 

Every week, I choose 10 random words to wrap a poem around.  I learned the benefit of this quite some time ago when someone once posted prompts.  If you have never tried this, I highly recommend it.  When writing for a prompt, the words force your poetry to go in a different direction than what you would have originally written.  Because of that, you stretch your point of view as well as your writing abilities.  I am going to post the prompt and what I have done with it.  Feel free to join in and add a link to your post in the comments section so others can see.  I look forward to reading what you come up with.

 

Prompted01

 

I’ve written two different styles of poems on this one:

 

Reverse Nonet: The Willows Reach

The
Willow’s
Reach whispers
I walk alone
My heart gives notice
I stand on broken edge
Below sneering summer moon
My lone footsteps to the gallows
Echo your paper thin promise – love.

© Sumyanna 2016

For this one I was able to get all the words, except one (park).


Free Verse:  Finding Solace in Summer Silence

I walk along the edge of the park in darkness
Hands stuffed in my front pockets
I cannot hide my trepidation
I scan the stretches of grass
The leaning trees
The empty benches
There is nothing here,
Save the whispers of my footsteps
Along the pavement
The path is long and winding
There is no light
Save the moon
And a dull glow
Resonating from the nearby lampposts
They bathe me in their light
The color of faded paper
The color of disuse
And I am awash in the silence of the night
The stillness of my breath
I lean gently against the willow tree
The rustle of leaves waken my awareness
And I hug my jacket closer now
Not cold, but the coolness on my skin
Unsettles my thoughts
I walk towards the water’s edge
Soaking in the reflection of moon and stars
I trace the ripples upon the waves
Carried by the travels of geese and swan
They hurry now, to rest
And it is here that I notice
I find my thoughts at peace
Within the summer silence.

© Sumyanna 2016

2 Comments Add yours

  1. very beautiful both the poems,i shall try once i’m settled ..love this..love hugs

    Like

    1. sumyanna says:

      Oh, I can’t wait Seema!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

