The City Has Lost Its Soul, A Poem

 

I remember the first time

we opened those gates

that led to the city

and stepped outside

the rush of cars

the blare of horns

the passing figures

on the streets

that would not smile

just looked away

it was a city

where eyes never meet

where beggars

hide in the dark spaces

hands outstretched

eyes etched in sadness

and you could hear

the clack of heels

that walk away

without a glance

stuck in a trance

trying to hide the truths

that they’re not living

for if you don’t look

then you cannot see

and if you cannot see

then you have no responsibility.

Perhaps it’s just me

but the city has lost its soul

and it wants – it begs

me along for the ride

but no,

it’s just not me.

I walk the streets

all the same

head hung low

to mask my shame

and I count the moments

when I go home again

for what is beyond those gates

brings pain

that many never see

but it’s just not me –

to close my eyes.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Image courtesy of Morguefile (BBoomerinDenial)

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Doc says:

    Enjoyed Sum…very nice reflection. Love your page layout…Doc

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Wow – thank you so much Doc. So pleased you are here. Truly appreciate your comments.

      Like

  2. Outstanding write Sum …indeed everything’s hollow but not you and me too (i guess) 🙂 …love hugs

    Like

    1. sumyanna says:

      I just find that in the city, you come face to face with some things that you don’t always see in other parts of the US. Overseas the situation is a bit different and you will find the needy everywhere. Here, they are often shoved out into the city, who then tries to shove them somewhere else. Also, from what I have seen – when you walk the city streets and even say hello, they look at you wondering what your angle is. What do they want? they ask. It is as if people cannot just want to say hello, or share a smile. I find it sad. Where I live now, I get mostly kind reactions if I say hello, smile, or show some kindness. Not always, but most of the time. However, in the city – it was the norm to distrust. As one friend has always said about me “you are a touchy-feely person.” However, not everyone is like that. I prefer to spend my time with those that are – but would never let one that wasn’t out in the cold either 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

