Portraits Poetry Series #10: Silence After the Rain

on

Portraits Series
People think it’s strange
a walk in the still moments
before the hustle and bustle
of the sun after the rain
I hear my footsteps fall
and echo –
and there is a little chill
but my thoughts keep me warm.
Alone –
I can finally hear myself speak
I can hear the words form
and hold a conversation
with my heart –
take in the scene
take in the smell
after the fallen rain
and many may not even know
that rain has a scent
that in the shadows
of the dawning day
there is a silence
that speaks
of wondrous things
yet, they still sleep
stiff within their beds
and think I’m crazy
to wake at dawn
where colors stretch
across the sky
and fill my heart with peace
my footsteps echoing
down these silent streets
and I am thankful
for a moments rest
for reprieve
from others’ thoughts
and I can finally breathe.

© Sumyanna 2016

4 Comments Add yours

  1. very beautiful Sum,i do the same ….dawn is most beautiful and peaceful …love this ..love you …hugs

    Like

    1. sumyanna says:

      Definitely. I love those quiet moments. So glad you liked it!

      Like

  2. What a beautiful poem. I read your about page and sure don’t know how you manage all you do, a bionic woman I say 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sumyanna says:

      Thank you so much. I somehow manage to survive 🙂 Fortunately, some of the kids are a little older so they help out quite a bit. They are a blessing. Thank you so much for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

