Accepting Defeat, A Poem

 

I am the paint

peeling on the sides

of houses

forgotten

and exposed.

I sigh,

but it goes

unnoticed

I ache

with the memory

of what once had been.

I am the rotten,

wooden planks

of yesterday

fallen down

in disrepair

where houses

once stood

and towns prospered.

Now, we are relics

left alone

to lay in the summer sun

exposed

broken

and forgotten

for life moves on.

I feel the ache in my layers

the peeling back of skin

the discarding of all

that makes me who I am.

I sit unknown,

unnoticed

a broken reminder

of another age

holding on to promises

that were never kept

and I weep

while the wind blows

the remains of my decay

across this landscape

that knows not of my glory days

and less of my dreams.

The wind instead –

seeks the crevices

it desires to carve me out

you can hear the sad

whistling tune of defeat

as I finally learn

to collapse

under my own weight.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Wonderful image courtesy of Morguefile (gustavobelemmi)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. EricWK says:

    This has such a good texture to it. I’m ready to read again and absorb it all. Nice to discover and explore!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sumyanna says:

      Thank you so much. I truly appreciate that!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

