Gifts You Gave Me in Passing, A Poem

on

 

I have pondered

The awkwardness

Of our existence

You fill the day

With birdsong

Flit amongst the clouds

In the early morning hours

In search of seed

In the neighbor’s garden

You pause

Upon the wooden fences

Call out

Call out

You sweet, gentle beast

That brightens the day

Of any that pass you by

Your only quest

To eat

To feed your young

To soothe the sadness of my days

With song

I watch your flight patterns

Remember the moments

When you flit from tree to tree

Singing

I am one, among many

Who build fences

Who divide the lines

And we leave our traces

We litter the ground in our haste

Tear out the trees from their roots

Replaced with boxes to suit our style

We have a voice, but rarely use it

Save to say things we should regret

And the poetry of our days

Comes replete with sorrow.

You, sweet bird upon my fence

You – leave traces

And yes, I leave traces too

But none has ever sounded as sweet

As the gifts you gave me in passing.

 

© Sumyanna Writes 2016

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Morguefile (ardelfin)

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. christawojo says:

    Absolutely beautiful poem. I live in Panama surrounded by thousands of birds. It’s a comfort to know they don’t give a crap about what I’m doing and worrying about. Funny coincidence: your picture is of a Lesser Kiskadee, which frequents my yard.

    Like

    1. sumyanna says:

      Oh what a beautiful view you must have. I find birdsong so peaceful. I live in the suburbs and there are birds here, but some days they stay quiet. I miss them in those quiet moments. Must be a wonderful place to live 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

