I’ve Been Prompted #2

Prompts2

I don’t know about everyone else, but I love writing for prompts.  Sometimes the mood strikes and I write a poem about how I feel, or about what I might be thinking or seeing at any given moment.  However, with prompts – you are forced to take your words in a different direction.  I actually like that a lot.  Besides, when others write for the same prompt – you get to see the different views people may come up with.  No two poems written for a prompt are the same, for no two people think the same.

 

So, I am going to post a list of 10 random words and show you the poem I came up with them.  Should you choose to take up the pen – you are more than welcome to use the same list of words to write your own poem, prose, short story.  When you do, please drop me a line in the comments so that I and everyone else who passes by here can see what you came up with.  I think you will be surprised about how rewarding this can be.

 

Prompted02

 

As a side note, I choose not to limit the amount of words, but instead let them tell me what they want me to say.  When writing for the prompt, feel free to use as many or as little of the words as you like – but try to at least write 4 of them in your work.  I do agree, that the more you use, the more challenging it is – but I feel that your writing is then forced to tell the story the words provide (which creates a better story).

 

How many times
have we cried freedom?
The image of burning crosses
in the dead of night
still wake us from our sleep
and a cry suffocates in our throats
but the tears refuse to fall.
We must stand strong
for we carry the burden of many
carefully treading the avenues
that are laid before us
it is unfortunate,
that we have no choice –
falling under the gaze
of those with lighter skin –
even our own kin
with paler eyes and softer hair
question whether to own this hardship.
Suffering,
has been our great teacher.
Yes, we must hold our tongue
and lower our gaze
we must not forget these ways
for our lives are not our own
nor is what our hands do earn
yet we must give thanks
for what little we have been given.
We are an empty box
begging to be filled
and yet – every way is blocked
no matter where we turn
forever a reminder
of where they think we belong.
Our only solace found
in the love of our fellow men
who suffer the same
in the mother we never knew
and the father that hung
for the crime of wanting more
for his own children.
I can feel the blood-stained earth
rattle beneath my feet
I can hear the sounds
of soulful lament
echo through the rows of cotton
sad truths laid out in song
affliction’s hum and moan in rhyme
begging, “set our souls free.”
And now, this is but history
yet freedom still wails
upon many a tongue
where the color of our own skin
determines our demise
Some, say freedom has been won
Yet the truth tells its own story.

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Original prompt idea attributed to A Prompt Each Day.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. great write Sum,really outstanding ,great message too ..i’m going to do this prompt but i shouldn’t have read your’s 🙂 i feel it’ll influence my write,btu i shall try,thank you ..have a beautiful weekend …love hugs

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Seema. In the future, I hope to write after posting the prompt, but kinda wanted everyone to know what to do with the prompt 🙂 Can’t wait to see what you come up with. Thinking to do this every other week since I fear that every week may be too often. However, I just might get inspired to do it weekly – we will see 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Shadeau says:

    Do you want us to use the “daisy” photo? Or the green rectangle with the words in it? Or maybe it doesn’t matter?

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      No – the daisy photo is just the main photo I will use for all prompts (makes it easier to spot) 🙂 Sorry to confuse you. Essentially – you will notice in the poem that I wrote that the words I used in the poem are highlighted. You do not have to do that – but just use any or all of the 10 words in your writing.

      Like

      1. Shadeau says:

        So, if I just link back to you, that’s all I need to do?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Sumyanna says:

        Yes. That’s all you need to do. You wrote such a beautiful poem, by the way. I really enjoyed reading it.

        Like

  3. Shadeau says:

    I agree that some prompts are simply irresistible! And this one you offer looks good, so I’ll put it in my IN-Box–thank you! And thanks for reminding me about “A Prompt Each Day”, too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Can’t wait to see what you come up with! Yes, I truly miss “A Prompt Each Day.” I really looked forward to them when they were posted. I got hooked and had to come up with my own words once they stopped posting prompts. I liked the other prompts (pictures, etc) but somehow this one stretched my thoughts further since it needed specific words.

      Like

      1. Shadeau says:

        “A Prompt Each Day”‘s site is still up–did they change to a weekly prompt or something? Guess I should go look for myself, sorry!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Sumyanna says:

        They changed to a weekly prompt and then just stopped. All their old stuff is still out there though, if you ever need inspiration 😊

        Like

Leave a Reply

