Daily Post Photo Challenge: Cherry on Top

CherryOnTop

Perhaps you found your way here with the hope of finding a delicious image of an ice cream sunday or a chocolate milkshake with a cherry on top.  I hate to say it, but the title was a bit misleading 🙂  My apologies, but I hope you stick around anyway.

 

The photo challenge this week on The Daily Post was Cherry on Top and we needed to share an image that we thought captured the idea of a detail that makes a good thing even better.  So, I chose the above photo as I truly feel this image contains several good aspects.

 

First of all, I should explain that any photo taken near the ocean will capture my heart immediately.  I live quite a ways from an ocean, but when we do visit – I am always taking pictures.  For some reason, looking at them later just soothes my heart.  I can hear the water rush up on the shore, I can hear the seagulls flapping their wings overhead, and I can smell the fresh salty air.

 

The photo gets better because it is also captured at sunset.  There are such an array of beautiful colors that light up across the sky at sunset – and I have been witness to quite a few spectacular ones over the ocean.  It is amazing not only to see the sun sink down into the horizon – which seems to stretch off endlessly in the distance, but it is also amazing to see the glow that lights up on the water, the beach and the amazing colorful displays that tinge the clouds (if there are any).

 

In the distance, you can make out the silhouette of a boat coming in to dock.  After a long day at sea, they have returned home – and took the opportunity to grace my photograph with even more beauty.  I don’t exactly know why, but I love watching the boats pass – especially at sunset.

 

The last detail – and for me, the cherry on top, is the two people who wandered into the photo and yes, I actually remember them even though it has been a year since this photo was taken.  It was a mother and daughter walking across the water’s edge, picking up shells.  They stepped into my photo quickly and then continued on along the beach, but I still remember the moment I captured the photo.  I remembered how lovely the moment was.  I remember watching them pick up shells along the shore as my family had just done moments earlier.  It was a very peaceful scene and yes, I take these photos for that very reason:  to remember all of them.

 

~ Sumyanna

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow, this is stunning photograph Sumyanna…yes, five stars, well done!!! 😀 You’ve got a lot of elements in the picture that lead the eye in giving an appearance of depth to the picture, the clouds, plus the mother and daughter. Interesting what you said about them wandering into your picture! I had that happen too this summer, a couple walked into my picture without me even knowing because I was holding my phone low to the ground to get a feeling of depth to image, I couldn’t see a thing… I do that a lot! 😉 I was trying to capture pools of light on the pavement and road from sunlight through the trees. But that couple made my picture, it would have been dull without them. I’ve often found that with a scene, a few people here and there, makes all the difference – makes it more alive.

    Also love the shade of this picture and the silhouettes too. Something to be very proud of. And it’s lovely to have these beautiful memories of a day out! 🙂

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much! Yes, they stepped in 🙂 It was actually a nice surprise though. I am usually careful about capturing people as I don’t want anyone to get angry for me taking their photograph, but they were much farther away. It added so much to the picture. So, you get down on the ground to take photos like I do? I always wondered what people think when they see me 🙂 Probably give them something to talk about… These are the memories I cherish. If I could, I would live near the sea. I am entranced by it. However, here it is so very expensive. Perhaps someday. My little guy keeps promising that when he grows up he will move to California for me 🙂

      Like

      1. Yes, I feel a little uncomfortable taking pictures of people where they can be easily identified. I prefer people in the distance or silhouettes. I find amazing street photographers on Flickr, I do love pictures of people, love seeing people life. But I don’t like being intrusive myself. Back in the 80’s when I first experimented with photography I wasn’t quite as bothered, but since the internet has arrived that’s changed everything. I don’t think I’d be happy to see myself walking in the street, on a bus or a train posted on someone’s blog. It’s a difficult one though, life is full of people, and too many pictures lacking people can feel like there is something, missing. Events where people dress up (carnivals etc) can be a good place for people photography. Everyone is more relaxed and often very happy to be photographed and posted on the web. I do like those low ground shots yes. I wonder that too…haha!! It must look very odd, like you’re taking pictures of the ground! 😀

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Oh – those are the same type of photos I love! I especially love silhouettes but seem better at capturing them on accident than on purpose 🙂 I have seen a lot of wonderful street photographers. I just wonder how they avoid people yelling at them for taking their photo. I know not everyone likes that. Yes, as far as looking odd – the only good thing is that my kids are doing the same thing. It’s better to be odd in a group 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

