Daily Post Prompt: When My Heart is Heavy, A Poem

Butterfly

 
When my heart is heavy
and the day is long
I take sanctuary
along the pathways and roadways
lined with wildflowers
overarching wild grasses
distant views of mountain tops
delicately laced with snow
where clouds hover
above perfect stretches
of azure sky.
And if I cannot find the time,
if I cannot pry myself away
no matter how much I need
to revive my heart and soul
I remember those moments when
… I felt the
gentle summer breeze
brush past my soul
… when I watched
the delicate dance
of butterfly
and its final descent
upon petal or leaf
… when I heard
the buzzing of bees
as they hovered
relentlessly
from flower to flower
saddle bags
hastily hung with pollen.
I take sanctuary
in these moments
and the flitting moments
of beauty in between.

(c) Sumyanna 2016

 

Written for  The Daily Post Prompt: Sanctuary

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Morguefile (Sergey81)

6 Comments Add yours

  1. ZenLikeFuck says:

    Nature is indeed the answer to all misery. Lovely words and wonderful imagery. My head rests in nature’s lap and my soul is revived, refreshed. You have transported me to such a beautiful place! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      It goes a long way to ensure my tears are dried and my soul is nourished 🙂 So very glad you found beauty there. I do as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The Poetry Channel says:

    Beautiful imagery and poem.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much. I appreciate that!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. SlàRueB says:

    Beautiful poem and a beautiful picture.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you ever so much SlàRueB. So appreciate you taking the time to visit 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

