Letters for My Children #1: You Add Beauty to My Life

For those of you who may not know – I am the fortunate mother of four very beautiful children.  Not one of them is alike – they have their own gifts and beauty they add to my life and I try my best to celebrate them every day.

 

As always, I want my writing to leave a message and I do hate when things that are thought are unsaid (unless they are negative – yeah, those thoughts can stay quiet unless they serve some good purpose :-)).  I know that some day I might not be around to say it, so I want everything to be up-front and spoken loudly.  I love my children more than I can ever say in words.  From time to time I will post these messages – in the hopes that some day they will find comfort in them.  I have never known love until they showed me.

 

The Moment We First Met

There are moments that define us.  Etched deep and no matter what we do or where we go, we carry them within ourselves.  For some, they may be sad moments or difficult times.  For me – I knew the moment it happened – laid out on a hospital bed, I was scared but also excited.  It was he beginning of everything.

I remember your first cry.  Each and every one of you. Not one of you sounded the same.  I cried.  I truly cried the first moment I heard your voices.  I don’t know if it was a swell of pride or just the realization that I was finally going to meet the person I had waited all my life to see.  In those cries of yours you both wrapped your heart around mine and breathed life into me.  It was that moment where I knew true happiness.  Nothing else mattered.

Do you know that?  Do you realize that – when I smile the moment I see you or when I slyly laugh and only dance in your presence it is because I love you deeply?  We have shared so much.  You know that I am not one for leaving things unspoken.  That is something I hope you will learn to cherish one day.

You mean so much to me and you give me everything I could ever possibly hope for.  So strange, I think to say that of a child, but isn’t it true when you think about it?  I truly cannot explain everything I feel nor write a perfectly composed poem that shows the depths of love I have known since you have come into my life.  There is nothing like having someone to love, to hold and to help them grow.  It is special to know that I make a difference but I also find that you make a difference too.

And I know in time, I will have to learn to let go.  I see that every day as we grow older.  I shall miss you – I know but somehow, I know you won’t be far away.  I just wanted you to know.

Written for all 4 of my children.
(c) Sumyanna 2016

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Morguefile (miguellara)

4 Comments Add yours

  1. cynthiahm says:

    As a mother I can totally relate. The depth of love we have for our children is awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anonymous says:

    Well done Sum…they will enjoy your thoughts and feelings…Doc

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thanks Doc. Truly appreciate that!

      Like

Leave a Reply

