Daily Post Prompt: El Silbo, A Poem

FontCandy

 

At first, I wasn’t sure what to write for this prompt.  How odd that the more simple words are harder to write for.  I decided to get inspiration by listening to the wind, but instead found an amazing video about a wordless language in La Gomera, a small island in Spain’s Canary Islands.

 

I will share that video with you as well, because I (at least) enjoy learning something new.  The video is pretty short – but the views are beautiful.

 

El Silbo

The unspoken words
whistle through the winds
“I am coming,
I am coming home”
and the shepherd,
hands raised to his mouth,
smiles.
The reply,
like birdsong
shelters on the breeze
“I shall wait for you.”
The days work
is almost done
and soon,
the sun shall
lose its shadow.
Quieter moments
will fill these hills –
birdsong
crickets
the breeze
gently whispering
past stooping trees
and rustling grasses.
For now,
there is the long descent –
a cacophony of bells
fills the silence
as goats plod hurriedly
down the embankment
and the man leans heavily
on his staff,
admiring his homeland.
Dust rises as they move,
once again,
in the direction
of the other voice
trudging toward home
in search of a warm meal
and a place to rest his weary head.

(c) Sumyanna 2016

Written for The Daily Prompt: Wind

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Morguefile (AJenyon)

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. syncbreath says:

    Lovely words!
    So happy to stumble upon the video as well… Very beautiful. We mentioned ‘Silbo’ in our latest post about Gomera but this video is giving a way better image of it than words can..

    Peace
    PS

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much. I really loved that video and I think I’ve already watched it 3 or 4 times. I don’t know what prompted me to look up videos – but I am glad I did that day. I feel this is one of my favorite writing pieces.

      Like

  2. daleomlider says:

    It’s true! Some of those words can be tricky. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Exactly! But I enjoyed the multitude of analogies and connotations found in it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree, I found “wind” a harder word too! This is beautiful though, well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much! Funny, isn’t it – seems like a simple word until you have to write about it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

