Letters for My Children #3: For the Artist in You

I want you to know it is such a pleasure to watch all of you grow.  I don’t know if you realize that, but yes, I am watching.  It is amazing to think that not so long ago, you were completely dependent on me.  You were so tiny, I was afraid you would break.  Now, I am learning to slowly let go – as I do know that someday I will have to.  Someday, you will struggle with the same things I have struggled with.  You will have your own families, your own dreams, your own talents to guide you through it all.

 

It is a sad realization – knowing you will have to let go, but I am also very proud of who you have become.  I know some of you are on your way to becoming adults, while others are just struggling to get through preschool.  No matter where you are in the scheme of things – know that you have made me love you beyond any love that I have ever imagined.  So amazing to think about how that is possible, but it is.  You, young ladies and gentlemen, truly taught me everything I know about the depths of love one can feel.
Know this – while there may always be sibling rivalry (though I always tried to help all of you celebrate your differences) – know that you all have a special place in my heart.  You all have your own personalities and your own talents that make you uniquely who you are.  I want you to learn to celebrate that.  Each one of you are different but you ALL tug at my soul and while I might write poems that seem to sweep across the surface of the horizon – I could never write a poem that could match the beauty of your soul.  Truthfully, I would not even try.
I know that as you are growing, you are learning more about yourselves, the world around you, your thoughts and your feelings.  It is never easy – but it is also an adventure.  You are learning so much, and at an astounding pace.  I can barely keep up with you!  Your art amazes me and your lines of poetry fill me with awe.  I hope that some day you will understand why I tried to get you love these things, for their carry a lot of meaning in your life and will help ease the more difficult times.  It is medicine when your heart is weary.
Whenever you pick up the pen or the paintbrush – never hesitate to pour out your heart’s contents.  Worry not what anyone will say or how it will seem.  Be authentically you for there is absolutely nothing more beautiful.  Worry not about what everyone else calls beauty, but write and paint from the depths of your soul.  No one else can tell your story.  No one else can see the world the way you see it.  If you do not use your voice – no one will ever hear it.  Never let anyone tell you what colors to use or the proper style, but hold that pen or paintbrush proudly and let your heart decide what you see.
Yes, I have met some that don’t understand the beauty of expression.  They find it meaningless, and often those people will be your harshest critics.  Know that anything that has ever been celebrated – either in the time it was created or later, was always seen with a different view.  Look at any famous artist, any famous author, any famous poet, and you will know these words are true.  They did not mimic the style of others.  Instead – they showed the world what they saw and how they saw it.  They defined the path for those who came later.

 

Even artists that learned those methods, made them their own – and added their own perspective.  So, while some may say – do things this way or don’t do things this way, know that only you know what is best for you.  You can use their words to guide you, when there may seem to be wisdom in them – but know that in your heart, you know what you see.  Interpret that, turn it around, paint a beautiful image or poem – for only you can translate what is in your heart.  I know, above all things – your heart is beautiful.

 

So fear not the critics words – but write it all out and paint in the broadest brushstrokes of your life and care nothing about their words.  Know – that only you know what you see.  And while many may want to guide you one way or another – just know that only you will know the path to take.  If you follow their path, you will never know your own.

(c) Sumyanna 2016

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Daleom says:

    Reading this, I think your kids are lucky to have you 🙂

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I have tried to give me what I didn’t have when I was younger. Every day is a learning experience though. I feel they have blessed my life in so many ways. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Daleom says:

        I don’t know much about parenting but I think that all anyone can do is to try their best

        Like

  2. Lovely….nostalgic abstract trip down memory lane…

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So glad you liked it, thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

