Daily Post Photo Challenge: Squirrels on Fences in the Morning

Every morning, the first thing I do is open all the curtains and blinds.  I open the window and spend most of my day sitting near it while homeschooling the kids.  There is something absolutely relaxing about the morning hours.  Everyone else is either at school or at work, and we get to bask in the beauty of morning’s stillness.

 

We have two squirrels that play in our backyard every single day.  You can find them chasing each other up trees and scampering along the backyard fences.  I believe they are partial to our yard because the neighbor not only has a bird feeder, but he also has a cat.  They sneak in when the cat’s not looking and steal some nuts and then run to our yard to eat them.  Trust me, this is not a complaint.  We enjoy their company!

 

These guys are pretty curious fellows, I might add – because they spend a lot of time also watching us.  You can often find them perched on the fence and staring right in our direction.  We have even found them sneaking up on us across the grass and sitting in front of our window, while we are doing lessons.   One time I was washing dishes and got scared when I noticed two eyes staring down at me from the nearby fence.  We had recently purchased one of those solar dancing flowers and the squirrel was just mesmerized.

 

I can definitely say that not a day goes by that we don’t watch and enjoy their antics.  I have become so smitten by them that I actually had written a poem about their adventures.  Strangely enough, though, I have never taken a photo.  With The Daily Post Photo Challenge this past week being “morning”, I knew exactly what I needed to do.  Funny enough, I told myself that “if” I found them outside yesterday morning I would take their photo.  As soon as I stepped outside, they did not disappoint.

 

squirrel01 (2)

 

Squirrel02 (2)

 

Here is the poem I wrote about them last winter:

 

SQUIRRELS ON FENCES

Scamper in the shadows
little one
for the day is long
and many tarry
too many burdens they carry
With quickened pace
on padded feet you race the wind
across the tops of fences
and you chase the Autumn leaves
as they fall from the sky.
Chase – and run – be merry
for soon the days
will crawl long and dark
and you will seek out warmth
in the shade of winter’s shadow
you will dig and fret over hidden treasures
now buried beneath the depths of snow
Be thankful there is still time left to play
And know that even winter shall come to pass
And bring us warmer, happy days.

© Sumyanna 2015

 

Here are some of my favorites from other posts on Morning:

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

rubys polaroid

Robdphotographer

chosenperspectives

Our Gorgeous Chaos

 

 

 

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. so sweet,love the pictures and i could imagine you at the window and they out going about doing their things,how nice 🙂 beautiful poem too Sum…..love hugs

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Oh, we watch them every day! Lately I have been trying to get pictures of them to show their antics, but they run faster than I do 🙂

      Like

  2. Beautiful poem and great photos. Squirrels are hard to capture.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I think the only reason he was easy was because we are familiar. While he doesn’t come right up to us – he allows us to be around. Thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my gosh, you have given me a great new view of my squirrels. I think ours must be from a different planet than yours thugh. They are nothing but trouble. They knock over the bird feeders. They have eaten INTO the container where we store bird seed. They have even eaten into our HOUSE! But your photos remind me of what sweet and actually beautiful creatures they are. Great shots. (And thanks for liking my “morning” photo. You’d think my three cats were starving!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Well it is easy for me to see, as I don’t own the bird feeder 🙂 I am sure they can cause a bit of trouble – but believe it or not the blue jays in our yard are worse. They take turns stealing all the nuts from the feeder and make sure that no other birds get any. They just keep coming back for more until they are all gone. The neighbor probably doesn’t know as he isn’t home during the day. The squirrels usually just steal the nuts the birds drop on the ground.

      By the way – your cats were adorable. I used to have a calico, but she died years ago and my daughter is allergic. Those images brought such a smile to my face. Happy memories 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

