Daily Post Prompt: I am Obsessed

Bench

I have an obsession for looking at things differently. I want to understand things not only from my point of view, but from every view possible. I guess, this is the major reason why I am a writer – or perhaps this desire to take things apart and understand them is what gave birth to my desire to write and capture what I see. Not only do I write what is seen through my eyes, but I also try to understand – why? I try to see, smell, taste, and touch – with empathy.

 

PurpleFlower

 

Strangely enough, I do believe I have always been this way. I have never just wanted to know that something is – I wanted to know why, and what would happen if it wasn’t? When I looked at someone, I didn’t just see their face – but I wondered, how are they feeling? What things have they gone through to get to this point? What makes them happy or sad? When I see a bee fly, I don’t just look and go on my way. Instead, I find myself watching its rhythm and movements. I almost want to paint each movement in my memory and then someday perhaps, I will paint an image of what I have seen, or better yet write a poem – trailing the looping and swooping movements of the bee flitting from flower to flower.

 

Bee

 

I truly do not know if anyone else does this, nor if they see what I see – but I am fascinated by most things I come across. It is not like the desire of a scientist to study something, to measure, to calculate – but, in some ways it is. I hope to understand the world and myself a little better and I never seem to tire in that quest.

 

Pink

 

For this reason, I think I am propelled to write, and just as I am obsessed with looking at things differently – I am also obsessed with writing. It is my passion. It took me a long time to realize that, but it is definitely true. Anymore, I cannot think about letting several days pass without writing something down – and often when I finally do, I cannot stop until I get it all out. It is a mishmash of all the things I have witnessed, or pondered, or imagined. It calms me in some strange way.

 

Dragonfly

 

In a similar way, I am obsessed with taking photographs – snippets of moments expressed in an image. I see a lot of crossover in both my writing, art, and photography. The desire comes from the same places – the desire to see things . . . differently and to express what I see or feel in different ways. I know I drive my husband crazy sometimes (the kids are busy taking their own pictures to notice) but I have this ache that propels me to take out the camera often. This burst of feeling “that is amazing” and needing to hold that moment, not only for myself – but to share with others.

 

Droplets

 

These are the things I enjoy; the things I love, and yes – I am obsessed. I have (along the way) learned that I don’t necessarily need to do them all the time. Instead – I need to do them when I can (and there will be times when I cannot) because it makes life more fulfilling for me. Until I am able to create something, I hold on to the memories of moments – even from long ago. I remember the sounds, the smells, the tastes, and even the feelings I felt at the time they happened. When I get a chance – I write.

 

Pond

 

To me, having something you are crazy about is one key to my happiness. It is what I look forward to after struggling through my busier days. When I am down, it is what I use to pick me up. I find there is a lot of benefit. With that being said, I’d love to know – what is your obsession? How did you get started? What thing do you do that adds a little more beauty to your day? Truly – I would like to know, so feel free to leave your story in the comments.

 

This was written for The Daily Post Prompt: Obsessed.

 

~ Sumyanna 2016

 

Here are some other wonderful posts written for the prompt:

 

Frank Prem

PsychePerspectives

Derelict Heart

lemonadeletter

The Gad About Town

Caillen James – Author

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for mentioning my post! ❤ Beautiful pictures. I have the same sort of fascination with the world, though sometimes I get too caught up in myself to enjoy what's around me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      You are definitely welcome 🙂 Thank you so much. Very glad to hear I am not alone – there is a lot of beauty to see! It is hard to not get caught up in things but I always try to remember how important it is to me.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is beautiful and through your writing and pictures I see the beauty you see. You ask about obsessions – mine are my children. A long time ago, before I had children, my obsession was words. The love of words was rekindled when I returned to college. Words offer justification, legitimation, and a sense of concretion that validates a person and their experiences. Words are powerful and beautiful and mysterious… Thank you for sharing your world with me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words. My kids are my other obsession but I could write a whole book on that one 😊 I find your love for them staggeringly beautiful. It is a good thing. May you always fill your heart with the moments you happily shared together. I do agree. Writing is a powerful activity. I am grateful that I picked up the poem after a long time. Don’t know how I survived without it. I am so glad you are writing. You are one of my favorite blogs to read.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Flavia says:

    Oh My–your photos!! I’m especially transfixed by the 2nd one, the silvery lavender flower…gorgeous!! What is it called? Thank you for your gracious mention of my latest blog 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I will find out and let you know. I love flowers, but am horrible with their names 😊 I truly loved your post. Thanks for sharing!

      Like

      1. Flavia says:

        You are a blessing!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. i know you well Sum,your obsession brings beauty to my life and i like it 🙂 i am not much into nature/creatures like you are,sorry but i like to ponder too,mostly about people and their lives,i think about how their day must’ve been,i like people watching and reading,i like to analyze people from what they write 🙂 i have no choice i guess,i read so much that i get to know people through their writing …and with OCD i am pretty much obsessed about patterns and lines and how i do things, ugh…you must know that by now,but i do practice not to become obsessive,change the way i do things some times just so as to break my pattern… i love your post and the pictures are beyond beautiful ..i think i know how your mind works very well,my works similarly(i like to think) 🙂 have agreat day sweetheart …love hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Well, from what I can tell we are quite alike. I understand not getting into creatures and the outdoors, but if you lived here you would probably really enjoy it. It makes me glad that I can show you a bit of life over here 😊 so good to hear I’m not the only one imagining. I do it all the time. I’m a day dreamer. I know it must be hard to struggle with the OCD, and I wish things were easier for you. Thanks for enjoy the post and the pictures. They are a mish mash of our latest adventures outdoors recently. Trying to make up for lost time and look! School is on Monday 😢 so glad I have you ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. i would have loved there of that i am sure,i love the outdoors,we go to parks here it rejuvenates me,just am scared of lizards and snakes 🙂 School’s on Monday,i wish you all the best for that,though i hope to see no lesser than now,i love you,take care …have fun…love hugs to you and your beautiful children ♥

        Liked by 1 person

  5. What a wonderful obsession! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

