Accepting the Stillness, A Poem

I have mourned

The innocent crawl

Toward winter

The colder air

That creeps

Through the meadow

The slow dissolution

Of light upon my face

And the shade

The shadows

That slowly fade

Any trace of my presence.

I am still here,

Lingering in the absence

Of friends and family

Who once flourished

In these fields

Hiding in tall grasses

Gracing the lines

of this gentle horizon

In splayed out beauty

Outstretched purple splendor

Sung in glory

Did you hear me sing?

And the fields,

Once filled with birdsong

Now lays silent

Waiting for winter

To sheathe its winter cloak

Across our backs.

This is my time –

To accept the stillness

To know that what comes after

Shall certainly be.

It matters not,

Should I fret or worry

For I have known

Beauty in my days

And I know –

That as I tarried here,

I filled my soul with peace

And held a favorable countenance

To all that journeyed near.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. So beautifully written. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Like

  2. I am now speechless…too beautiful, this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so much Leandra! Appreciate that so much.

      Like

      1. You’re most welcome 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

