Daily Post Photo Challenge: Looking over the Edge

For me, living life is always like peering over the edge.  I like to see what is barely seen by others and wonder what next great thing can be discovered.  I don’t know if I have always been this way or if my children have taught me to always look with a discerning eye.  The look, they peer, they charge ahead like fearless explorers.  It matters not whether they are watching a ant drag a crumb across the sidewalk or whether they are noticing a person in need of a smile.  Perhaps I just refused to grow up and what I see – I have always seen.

 

I rarely know why I am the way I am or why I do the things I do, but most often – I wouldn’t change a thing.  I have seen the most amazing things and have the ability to see the most amazing things – even in my own back yard.  I often think – seeing with the eyes of a child is a gift and I am fortunate that my children are a good influence on me.  I have tried to teach them art and photography – only to learn from their own view and it changes my own or perhaps just enhances it.

 

For The Daily Photo Challenge (Edge), I have decided to submit the following images – which for me, show the view over the edge.  It is in looking where others may not notice or perhaps I may not usually be looking…

 

01

After hiking in the mountains, I was tired and looking forward to finding our car in the parking lot.  Found this beautiful butterfly perched on a flower and lost all desire to rush to the car.

 

02

This moth was actually quite small and we almost missed him.

 

03

After spending an entire day at the gardens, I noticed peeping overhead in the parking garage.  As is usual for me – I stood their waiting for the right shot while many drove by wondering if I realized I was in a parking garage and not the gardens.

 

04

He tried to hide, clinging to the edge of a petal.

 

05

He was hiding along the sidewalk and was barely noticeable.  This is the case of being with the right people at the right time.  My daughter noticed him and yelled for me to take a picture.

 

06

Clinging to the leaf, barely visible under the canopy of green.  Another example of looking over or beyond the edge of normal view.

 

I hope you enjoyed the view!

 

Other wonderful posts for The Daily Post Photo Challenge (Edge):

HK Shots

The Eternal Traveler

Lighthouse + Wanderer

Steve Newcomb Photography

Hip Photography

Dot Knows!

Aditi Universe

 

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Very lovely clicks…

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Roberta!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lovely …the photographer and the photos 🙂 love you Sum..hugs

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you. Wow – you made me blush 🙂 So glad you like them.

      Like

  3. treerabold says:

    I really like the way your mind works. I think it’s important that we all look a little deeper and step a bit closer to the edge. Your photos are fantastic

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Oh thank you so much – that is truly a compliment 🙂 I think we need to relearn to. At one point in life – it was just the way we did things. So glad you liked the images. Still learning to use my new camera, but I am happy with the results so far.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Amazing photographs 😀

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

