Daily Post Prompt: Out, Out Damn Spot!

Out, out!
Damn spot
for I did nothing
but turn my fragile eye
from tears they’d cry
I never bothered
to ask them why
I did nothing.

Out, out!
Damn spot
for I did nothing
no souls I’ve claimed
no men I’ve maimed
I only turned my view
from sorrow others knew
and I did nothing.

Out, out
Damn spot
for I did nothing
when mothers cried
for children slain
when other’s skies
were filled with flames
I did nothing.

Out, out
Damn spot
I never tried to raise my voice
I never cried a single tear
I never thought to ask them why
I never even dared to try
I was too busy enjoying life
not worried about anyone’s strife
besides – who cares
they’re far away
and they are wrong, anyway
and I did nothing.

Dear friend,
the spot shall never fade
for hearts, uncaring – refuse to aid
when others need – and beg or plea
yet we look on, in piety
hearts, when touched by simple truth
shall easily see through hearts uncouth
and simple, though it may seem
uncaring hearts cannot redeem.

© Sumyanna 2015

This post was submitted for The Daily Post Prompt: fragile
Wonderful image courtesy of Morguefile (hotblack)
4 Comments Add yours

  1. excellent and heartfelt write Sum,we need to look around more…love hugs beautiful

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you! Yes, we do Seema.

      Like

  2. Delyn Merce says:

    Well done–such a true message to end the poem.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thanks! So glad you liked it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

