Unbroken, A Poem

fontcandy-3
It’s not so easy to break me
And no, I have no heart of stone
But long – long ago
There was a girl that believed
In the good in everybody
And life just has a way
Of teaching you lessons.
Although some
May be disappointed,
I cower not in a corner
Nor stir my bitter thoughts.
They lie lonely, somewhere
I’ve no desire to find them
For I prefer to dwell
Self-contented
Knowing, that despite
The lives that others lead,
And perhaps their disapproval
I choose the path that I lead
I have no need . . .
For someone else’s mercy
Nor approval from the masses
I’m just me – and yes,
For me – that is enough.
I shall sleep where I lay my head
Thankful for a moment’s reprieve
And some days, I may live in dreams
But I have to say that bitterness
Never tastes sweet
Despite what others may claim
Nor can it reside, in thankful heart.
No – no matter what tales you weave
Nor promises broken
Firm I shall stand against the tide
For life has taught me many things
And this is the only way
I know to be . . .
Unbroken.

© Sumyanna 2015

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Applause …for your poem and the attitude here…great work my sweet…love hugs always

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Delyn Merce says:

    WOW, this is too good–and I so wish I could make the message fit into my heart.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Sometimes it is a journey 🙂 So glad you liked it.

      Like

      1. Delyn Merce says:

        Yes, a journey–I’m “slogging” along 🙂

        Like

  3. maureenrose7 says:

    Every line of this gave me chills! i hope you never stop writing not ever! i love this so much and feel you totally!! ❤

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Oh wow – thank you Maureen 🙂 You just made me smile real big. So very glad you liked it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. maureenrose7 says:

        you are so welcome! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Tom Schultz says:

    a very moving poem.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Tom!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

