Finding Beauty among the Lily Pads, Part 2

 

I know I promised three posts of lily pads at the gardens and I have not forgotten.  Behind the scenes, I am ever so busy these days.  Not sure if I have mentioned it – but I’m a homeschool mom.  Last year was my big break.  After spending year after year one on one with each of my children, two of them started doing more on their own – with the help of our online school.  They are doing amazing, I might add so I am thrilled that they have learned independence.  It was not easy, though – because my oldest child struggles with Dyslexia.  In order to help her thrive, I had to do everything with her.  Over time, though – they finally do learn to fly.

 

It is a mixed feeling of sadness, pride, and thankfulness to realize you have given them wings.  It is not that she is out of the house – but I miss our conversations over science or history topics.  I miss talking with her about the importance of literature or trying to help her form the words of an essay.  I really enjoyed these moments with them.  So last year I broke out and did something I have never done – I took care of myself.  Scary as it may seem, it was wondrous!  For the first time in my life, I started to write again and found great joy in what I was able to create – this is one of the main reasons you find me here.  I just cannot stop 🙂

 

Last year, I only had one child to homeschool and though I needed to be by her – she is quite the independent one.  I could have sat and twiddled my fingers, but I chose to write in between the moments when we discussed what she was doing.  It is not the easiest way to write – especially since I really enjoy the silent moments, but when you are a homeschool mom, you take what you can get!  Even though my daughter was independent, she also is severely dyslexic.  With that being said, she is amazing in her stamina and ability to keep trying.  She has struggled, but she has also achieved.  This year, it is another struggle – as each year brings more difficult material and she has to learn to overcome her obstacles.  I am glad I am able to be here for her.  Alongside her, there is her brother who just started Kindergarten.  While he does not seem to struggle yet, a Kindergartner does not exactly learn on their own 🙂

 

So, my days are filled with moments teach both of them and struggling to maintain my sanity while jumping from one topic to the next and one child to the next.  Multitasking isn’t as beautiful as it seems.  I can be one hot mess sometimes, but I am thrilled to have these moments with them and they accept me, even with all my flaws.

 

Now I know I promised you pictures, so I will get right to that, but I just wanted you to know that if I ever do seem silent or if a comment has not been added yet, I will get around to it – promise!  There is nothing I cherish more than these moments that I can share with you…

 

02

 

06

 

09

 

12

 

13

 

19

 

22

 

 

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. aww sweetheart,you’re the greatest Mom ever because i cannot do what you are doing now…i admire that most about you and beautiful pictures too 🙂 love and hugs 🙂

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      It takes all kinds Seema 🙂 I a sure there are many things you can do that I have not even attempted 🙂 It is difficult at times, but truly I do not regret my choice. Hugs to you!!!

      Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Your welcome and have a good evening

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Delyn Merce says:

    I’m fascinated by the very real struggles of your days juxtaposed with these glorious photos!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Delyn. We keep busier than most, but I am definitely blessed. The kids are learning to value themselves even though they struggle.

      Like

      1. Delyn Merce says:

        I LOVE that!! Teaching your kids to value themselves (and others) is the richest gift you can give them–Bravo!!!

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Thanks – it is never easy, but it was something I was missing as a child. It is one of the reasons I homeschool them. I did not know at the time they would also have learning difficulties, but I am so glad I made that step. They have overcome many obstacles that the experts cannot explain. I believe that while they may think differently – they at some point will learn to compensate with other abilities. If they are discouraged before they get a chance – they never get a chance to know what they are capable of.

          Like

          1. Delyn Merce says:

            I admire your love and dedication ❤

            Like

          2. Sumyanna says:

            Thank you. It is never easy, but always rewarding.

            Like

Leave a Reply

