Portraits Poetry Series #21: Romance of a Winter’s Day

Portraits Series

 

The flowers sit on the table
muted red, pink, soft yellow
carefully placed
by delicate hand
and they were cherished
cherished – for their beauty
and the color
they gave to her life.
Pink draped curtains
frame the room
it is somber –
and quiet
refined –
and genuine
she held romance
in her fingertips
and she loved
everything around her
breathed in their scents
touched – absorbed
their secrets
looked closely
with the naked eye.
She was entranced
by everything
and she feels
at home here
warm –
comfortable
like her own skin.
She stretches
slowly raises
from the couch
and saunters
over to the window.
Her fingers
slowly trace
the dance
of snowflakes
she feels the cold,
shudders
then edges near.
She reaches
for the door
slowly pulls it open.
The snow drifts in
and she watches
with amazement
her breaths escape
as tendrils of mist.
She stands for a moment,
hovering between both worlds
comforted by the warmth within
and enticed by the cold outdoors.
Slowly, she steps outside
encircled by snow
the cold bites her skin
but she feels alive.
She dances on the balcony,
arms open wide
head flung back
and a smile
plays upon her face
and now, she must return.
She steps inside
embraced by the warmth again.
She feels alive
in the beauty
that adorns her space
the scent of roses
the warm plush blanket
laid across her lap
and with a sip of warm tea
her color returns
cool, pink cheeks
reminiscent
of the cold outside.
Now warm –
she delights in
the romance
of a winter’s day.

© Sumyanna 2016

9 Comments Add yours

  1. What comes alive from within your heart…is truly an amazing treasure! Simply beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much Wendell!

      Like

  2. you make winter appealing to me 🙂 loved this Sum,beautiful write…love hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      See, I grow tired of winter at some point. I like Spring and Fall best but they always seem to be over before you know it. I also like winter but hubby hates the cold. I keep begging him to go snowshoeing with me but I know five minutes out of the car and he will want to go home 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. heehee…some days I could be so much like your hubby,maybe because we hail from places with hot climates 🙂 don’t give up though 🙂 love and hugs

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          I think that is it Seema 🙂 I grew up where it was really cold, but I have lost my taste for very. I can handle some, but at some point I ache for the warmth and promise of Spring!

          Like

  3. Is that you???
    Wonderful lines.
    You described the emotions very beautifully…..

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Well, the poem was based on an image. It is a little exercise I do where I try to capture what I see in the painting and convey it in a word painting, if that makes sense. However, as with most of my writing – I write a little of myself into each and every one. I do enjoy the winter and all its beauty from a distance. For me, I prefer the warmth of Spring with gentle rains or the more comfortable season of Fall days. I do believe she is me 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

