Beneath the Muted Leaves of Autumn, A Poem

 

I am the bud

on the edge of winter

too late to grow

and early snow

is outside threatening.

It is not that I

am willing

to surrender –

for though the days

are colder,

I must strive

to carry on,

fulfill my purpose

to arise in splendor.

Life is an opportunity

to rise

or to fail to rise

and I never would have foreseen,

winter was delayed

and it was my chance

to thrive, beneath

the muted leaves

of Autumn.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Morguefile (kfjmiller)

 

 

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. beautiful and inspiring,i love your touch Sum,always special…love hugs

    Like

  2. This is truly beautiful – you have remarkable talent.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Delyn Merce says:

    Oh my goodness, dear heart–this is so exquisitely beautiful…and inspiring!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much 🙂 So glad you liked it!

      Like

      1. Delyn Merce says:

        You’re welcome–I truly did 🙂

        Like

  4. I could visualize the bud braving the onset of winters

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      We have that a lot here – an overlap of seasons. I know not everyone has it, but in Fall we can have an early snow and in Spring as well. The plants can prove to be rather resilient 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

