Learning to Slow Down…

I am fortunate that I have been able to share my love of nature with my children.  It matters not that we live in the suburbs, or that most of the animals who were comfortable in this habitat are now gone.  Somehow, still – we are able to see traces of it here and there.  When we get the chance – we drive towards it with full abandon.

 

I miss the countryside.  I know I only lived there for approximately six years, but I have taken away those experiences with me.  I refuse to let them go.  I wish every child had the same opportunity.  We lived on the top of a mountain overlooking three rivers.  The land just stretched on and on and so did the sky.  We laid down under the shade of trees in the grass and stared at the shapes of fast moving clouds.  At night, we would catch fireflies and then let them go.  We would listen to the sound of crickets and stare up at the sky counting stars.  Back then, we had few neighbors and we lived on a dead-end street that wasn’t even paved.  In the back of our property, farmers grew tall fields of corn and at night we would turn on the lights to find dozens of deer in the back yard feeding.  I guess it was there that I fell in love…

 

This weekend, we went up into the mountains, but one simple moment while waiting for my husband struck me the most.  We buy honey from a woman who runs a little store from a tiny shack.  In front of the shack and far into the distance, she has bee hives.  Directly in front of the shack are nothing but tiny wildflowers and grasses.  Even the road is hidden by tall cattails.  It is quaint and lovely.

 

You would think we would “behave” while my husband bought the honey – but no.  We got out and started taking pictures of the tiny beautiful flowers.  It was then that we noticed grasshoppers were everywhere.  No matter where you walked, a wall of them went leaping in all directions.  I sat and just took everything in.  One daughter crouched to get a better look at a small flower.  Another was admiring the view of the mountains in the distance.  My two youngest children were running through the field chasing one another and delighting in the grasshoppers reaction.  It was beautiful to watch them.

 

To me, it seemed such a simple excursion, we had not yet gotten to our destination in the mountains.  However, my children could easily have spent the entire afternoon there.  We could have taken a break with a picnic lunch and then returned to observing the smaller joys in life.  Here are a few moments I captured while slowing down my pace this weekend…

 

img_0937

 

img_0941

 

img_0944

 

img_0948

 

img_0952

 

img_0949

 

img_0955

 

img_0951

 

img_0977

 

img_0946

 

 

 

13 Comments Add yours

  1. I have to say that you are lucky and i know that you know that,now i envy your childhood too,such a wonderful time it must’ve been,this is beautiful Sum,thank you for sharing 🙂 love and hugs always 🙂 ❤

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so much Seema 🙂 It is never easy for us to slow down – but we have to remember how important it is for our own sanity as wives, mothers, etc. Hope you are enjoying your time away as well. May it be filled with beautiful moments.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. thank you Sum,wish the same for you 🙂

        Like

  2. leigha66 says:

    Wonderful post… some beautiful words and pictures!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much!

      Like

      1. leigha66 says:

        You’re welcome.

        Like

  3. Rebl_fitgirl says:

    Sounds like a beautiful day! It is wonderful to slow down and enjoy the beauty of nature around us! such lovely memories 🙂

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      It was actually nice for a change. Kids automatically know how to slow down – it is the adults that are always telling them to rush 🙂 So glad they remind me.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. balroop2013 says:

    Totally in sync with nature! Green grasshoppers of my childhood popped out to scare me as I always thought they would jump onto me. 🙂 Lovely reflections!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I can imagine it being scary – I think I would have reacted the same. Fortunately, one is a boy and the other a tom-boy. She likes many of the things her brother likes (including insects) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. maureenrose7 says:

    Oh my….what a perfectly lovely post Sumyanna! I felt like I was there with you watching them play! Such a nice story! and very glad you got the chance to slow down for a few! XO!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so much Mareen. It was a lovely day truly. Yes, slowing down is so important but we often forget to do it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. maureenrose7 says:

        Yes you are so right Sumyanna! Im glad you got to enjoy the time! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

