All Moments Are Meant to be Lived in, A Poem

It is morning

And outside,

The rain is falling.

I can hear the gentle patter

Upon the windowpane

The gentle rap tap tap

That fills the silence.

I find myself

Staring beyond the window’s reach

The world is a blur

And it seems

As if it has quietly surrendered

To the long stretch of muted gray

The wet streaks of sadness

That drip along the grasses

Down the arching spines of trees

And in the silence of my thoughts,

I feel the dull ache

Of something that is missed

As if I have misread the cues

And something is overlooked

In all the presence

My days demand.

I have this urge

To let the rain

Trickle from my fingertips

Kiss the tip of my nose

I need to lose myself

Within the rain-filled moments

Of my days

Not abhor them.

I cannot afford to

Mourn these moments

Lost in the silence of my thoughts

Where I finally connect with

Who I truly am.

I cannot afford to

Find them inconvenient,

But I must find them –

Seek them –

Turn them inside out –

And learn to sigh

When the moment

Finally comes

To return

To the race

Of the restless

We are only given

So much time

And all moments –

Are meant to be lived in.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Beautiful photo courtesy of Morguefile (amairgen)

5 Comments Add yours

  1. So true and apparent. Funny that we need to constantly remind ourselves of it. Nice piece.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      It is, isn’t it? Thank you for your comments!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Delyn Merce says:

    Oh wowza, you are so exquisitely intense–I love it.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Jumping for joy 🙂 thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

