Photography: Finding Treasures in Our Own Front Yard

We go through our front door – day in and day out and we often overlook the beauty of things around us.  Well, I can’t speak for everyone but even when I try my best to notice things, they still escape my view.

 

Last week, it all started with a cat.  We have a stray cat in the neighborhood that I noticed one of the neighbors was feeding.  She spends all day long under the cars, hiding from view.  Let’s just say that everyone in my family (aside from my husband) just loves cats (my husband is too busy thinking of cleaning litter boxes).  Problem is, my oldest daughter is allergic.

 

Strangely enough a while ago my daughter went to get something from the van and while she was rooting around in the back seat, the cat just leaped in the van with her and meowed.  The cat would not leave until she got a belly rub.  The cat had won her over – funny thing is that she is the one that is allergic, but that doesn’t stop her.  She absolutely loves this cat and every time my daughter goes out of the house – if the cat is around, she runs to my daughter meowing.

 

Yes, this is her when she first heard my daughter open the door…

 

cat1

 

cat2.jpg

The other day we gave her some food.  Everyone has learned not to crowd her or she will run away.  This day was just one of those days that the cat just didn’t want to be bothered.  Normally, she will sit around and wait for petting and purr like a motor.  I, being me – took out my camera and got a few some shots of her.  Once she finished eating, she just walked away.  I then figured, I have my camera out – what should I take a picture of?

 

I went over to the bushes (despite it being fall it still has its flowers) and noticed aphids, ladybugs, yellow jackets, and ants.  That bush was busy!  So, I could not help but post a reminder to all of us – to always be on the lookout for things that should capture your attention.  Remember those times when we were younger and we bent over watching the long trek of ants or a spider weaving their web.  Those lost moments – those long lost memories of awe that slow you in your tracks – we are sorely missing them in our daily lives.  Will share more photos of these tomorrow, just in case you are interested 🙂

 

01

 

03

 

05

 

07

 

10

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Madraasi says:

    Love the pictures 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. leigha66 says:

    Just lovely photos!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much! Sadly, the tree is barren now – it’s that time of year. Hoping to take more pictures in Spring 🙂

      Like

  3. maureenrose7 says:

    Oh Sumyanna you are so right, many people are missing these moments..and they feed our soul truly they do! I love the way you pay attention! ❤

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so much. I always have to remind myself. For me, I have never liked being rushed – however, life seems to always drag you back to that pace. I always find myself kicking and fighting the urge 🙂 Kids help.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. maureenrose7 says:

        Welcome Sumyanna! yes the kids are so good for that! XO!

        Like

Leave a Reply

