I found Myself, A Poem

fontcandy-23

 

I was actually

Away at the time

Not on vacation,

But away –

Lacking in presence.

Life took me

In new directions

Its forceful pull

Dragging me to the sideline

Whispering in my ear

This is where you belong

No matter that your heart

Wants to be here

Or there

But this is where

Your presence

Is needed.

And at first,

I did not understand

The difference

Being away makes

Turning your ear

Toward the sounds you hear

Engaging the view,

Feeling what needs to be felt.

Yes, sometimes,

In absence –

We realize

What is important.

Like being away sometimes,

Is what we need

To be properly present.

It is a necessary

Unwinding of our thoughts

A realigning of the stars

And finally we find ourselves

Straightened on the path again

Aware and present

Being away, I found myself.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Morguefile (jackiebabe)

One Comment Add yours

  1. Delyn Merce says:

    Well said, lovely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

