Daily Post Prompt: As Beautiful as Dreams

dreams

 

There is a poem,

Written

Across silk taffeta skies

The scattered haze of blue

That slinks in silence

The growing blush

Of sun’s release

And periwinkle dreams.

I rearrange my smile

And my heavenly gaze

For the artist

Assuredly, is still awake.

For along with night,

Comes stillness and peace.

I hear,

The melancholy call

Of crickets

The rapid chirp

Of frogs

Somewhere along

The water’s edge

The circulating call

Of night owl

High up in the trees.

I watch the elegant

Pirouettes of fireflies

And my eyes trace

Remnants of their shadows

As they sink, rise, and fall

And I cannot sleep

I cannot sleep

Because reality sometimes

Can be just as beautiful

As your dreams.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Written for The Daily Post Prompt: rearrange

Beautiful image courtesy of Morguefile.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Delyn Merce says:

    You are really a remarkable writer, Sumyanna–each piece is sheer loveliness, and often moves me to teary eyes.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much Delyn. Your words mean a lot.

      Like

      1. Delyn Merce says:

        Well I’m glad, because 120% sincere from the the heart ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

