I Can’t Say I Love You, A Poem

I want to wander in your thoughts
on a quiet afternoon
where the sun beats down gently
and my steps slap across the sidewalk
taking me there –
I want to embrace the architecture
of your every thought
enjoy the view like a photographer
snap – snap
another photo taken
another silent thought
exchanged between our hearts
and I understand you
a little better
we are less – alone
less – different
and I l—- you
those famous words
but I cannot say them
for though absurd,
they truly do not sum up
how I actually feel
they are embalmed
tomb-like and lifeless
because there’s a soul
to what I have to say
it is as alive and real
as when an infant
first starts breathing
wailing out –
so I refuse to say them.
Instead, I paint them
in the landscape of my life
they are adrift
in every sigh of passing beauty
every color, rich and deep
and my heart knows
the existence of colors
never discovered by man
but you laid them there
at my feet
lovingly placed –
you begged for mercy
and solace
a place to rest your head
and every day –
I beg to exist
for this sole purpose.

(c) Sumyanna 2016

11 Comments Add yours

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. beyond beautiful…love this Sum…love and hugs

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Delyn Merce says:

    This is very moving–love the notion of snapping photos of the beloved’s thoughts….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you – I guess it is the photographer in me that inspired the lines. Could not help myself 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Delyn Merce says:

        You’re one talented lady, overflowing with gifts and quiet passion.

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Thank you so much Delyn – really appreciate that.

          Like

          1. Delyn Merce says:

            Most welcome 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  3. leigha66 says:

    Such intense love portrayed in these words… beautiful!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

