Beneath the Giant Canopy of Blue Arching Sky, A Poem

I sat
beneath
that giant canopy
of blue arching sky
staring
at the fast moving clouds
amazed at the mastery
of art and canvas
like a reveler who stands
beneath massive paintings
hung in a quiet museum.
Mouth open, in awe
I trace the lines
of their beautiful faces
caress the edges of their curves
the lines which are now imprinted
in my mind –
Yes, beauty has slept here
she crawled across
the blank space
of her canvas
stretching
yawning to life
and now she resides
not only there –
but in the definition of beauty
held within my mind.

(c) Sumyanna 2016

 

Submitted for The Daily Post Prompt: Giant

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Brian says:

    I love clouds too, the way they paint pictures in the sky.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Yes, they are absolutely beautiful. Poetry in motion…

      Like

  2. most beautiful,i am in awe of the beauty of your poetry 🙂 love and hugs always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you sweet Seema! Appreciate that – and you beyond words…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. always anytime ❤❤

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Reading the line “beneath huge paintings hung in a museum” I felt I was standing in Louvere, Paris. I love the way you express artistically.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      That is exactly how I would feel. I have never been there – but I do love visiting the museum. Thank you!

      Like

  4. Like a reveler who stands behind massive paintings woww like that line 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow…. beautifully written

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

