Are You Up for the Challenge? I’ve Been Prompted #6

Prompts2

 

I actually used to do this often – once a week at least.  However, recently the fever has died down and I think I want to revive it 🙂  What are they, you ask?  Prompts – plain and simple, writing prompted by a  list of 10 words.  I usually just do these myself, but when I offer others in on the fun – they really enjoy it.

 

Here are the rules.  I am going to give you ten words:

prompted6

Feel free to write a poem, a short story, or prose piece for this prompt and let me know.  I will share your link here.  At a minimum, try to include at least 3 of the words.  The more you use, the more the words guide you poem in a different direction than you would normally go.  Let go of your comfort zone and let the words tell a story!

 

I think the best thing about these prompts is that when others do them – you see how our different our point of view, our experiences, and who we are, shines through our poems.  Each poem written is different than the rest and therein lies the beauty!  So get out your trusty pen and see what you can make of these words.  The following is a poem I wrote when I first challenged myself with this prompt.  I will also try to write again for the prompt and see where the words take me!

 

She Believed in Me

Grandma’s voice
Could be heard
From the kitchen,
Sugar, come here”
And I ran toward her
Full force
Seeking the warmth
Of her arms
I hop into her lap
With youthful endurance
She winces, but smiles
That voiceless recognition
That growing old is never easy
And I did not understand.
Time has stolen
Much of my time with her
She died when I was young
But I remember our conversations
I remember the way
She held my gaze
Took me in
And encouraged my gifts
With loving hands
And patient heart
She is here –
Now,
Always
Her overt acceptance
Of everything me
Has held me together
Held me in
And allowed me to grow
Beyond the box
I would have been put in.
This,
For some
Would seem
A pricey gesture
For the time it takes
To be sincere
Goes against the grain
Of what most folk
Find acceptable
It is not that others
Do not enjoy the company
Of children
But they often
Don’t have time
To join them in their dreams.

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Seema, one of my great online friends and writers has taken up the challenge.  Please check out her work on her blog: Life’s Hues

 

Another amazing write for the prompt by Senendipitous Web Life.  What an enjoyable read!

 

What an amazing read!  Excellent poem by Milka Akinloye.  Thank you!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. hey Sum,I’ve written for this but I’m not sure if this pingback thing is working or not,leaving the link of the poem here,thank you for the prompt and sorry for the inconvenience…have fun.
    http://lifeshues.org/before-love-short-story-poem/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. i love this,warm and beautiful,i love the prompt,but i could never come up with what you wrote,how differently we think right? 🙂 look forward to writing this,thanks a ton for prompting 🙂 love and hugs beautiful

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I am going to try to write for it again – and I bet you I will write differently again. That is the beauty of it 🙂 Let me know if you do the prompt as I would be so happy to share your work 🙂 Yay!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. yes,ofcourse Sum 🙂

        Like

  3. Delyn Merce says:

    Oh I got sad, missing my grandma!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I know. I lost mine when I was only 8 years old, but she lived her life in such a way to make a lasting impact. She was a beautiful soul and I am so glad I had those moments with her.

      Like

      1. Delyn Merce says:

        So many people I know were positively impacted by their grandmothers 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

