Daily Post Discover Challenge: Knowing You Are My Sunshine

sunshine

 

This week, we were asked to write about a song that stayed with us, and I know I’m going to break tradition and not write about some of the amazing music that has touched our lives.  Instead, I’m going to keep it simple and true.  I have grown as a person through the lines of a simple song that I sang in childhood and I have found the truth of the words, “You are My Sunshine.”

 

I remember as a child, growing up singing this song.  It did not matter where I was, you can be certain of one thing – I was always singing.  I grew up wanting to be one of two things – a teacher or a singer.  So, I guess I have achieved something.  I am teaching the kids and I get to drive them crazy by my constant singing J

 

Now, back then – the song did not really hold any special meaning, but it was one I remember singing often while playing with dolls or playing in the backyard.  And can I just say now, how odd I find it that many of the songs I sang in childhood are still remembered?  I mean, word for word.  It is funny how some things just stick with you.

 

Race forward many years and here I am holding my first daughter.  I would often sit in a chair and rock her to sleep while singing “You are my Sunshine.”  Now – and I do mean this with every cell of my body –  this song means every word and every line.  I feel it in my bones, because yes!  She is my sunshine each and every day.

 

I have gone through this ritual with every child, singing them to sleep, singing when they are hurt to calm them down, and singing to them because I feel joy.  Okay – I sing for any old reason, but these words!  These words mean so much more than they did when I was a child, and I guess the reason is – back then, no one sang them to me.  They did not have the same meaning because unfortunately, I never felt that special growing up.  And while that is sad, I know, (and I have cried at times when I was much younger) – I realize that I have the power to give those words meaning.

 

I can love and love and love some more and let my children know every day just how much they mean to me.  So, while the tale is sad – I can make something of that sadness.  I can learn the importance of the things I did not have and give them to my children.  Hopefully it will impact them and help them realize how good it felt to be loved and they will do the same for their children.  I can be the cause of that.  I rather like that idea!

 

So I can definitely say, I have grown through the years singing “You are My Sunshine.”  I have learned the importance of showing others that you love them.  And when my son feels down and begs me to sing to him, I will sing softly in his ear so only he can hear my secret.  Just like my other children, he is my world – and I get to share that with him in the words of a song.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

Written for The Daily Post Discovery Challenge: Song

Lovely image courtesy of Morguefile (cheriedurbin)

 

 

 

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Vinitha says:

    This was so beautiful to read, Sumyanna! I loved how you made something so heartwarming out of sadness. Precious! 🙂

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Vinithia. Life is never easy, but truthfully with every experience some happiness can be woven 🙂

      Like

  2. Timelesslady says:

    Great song! I have it on the “Oh Brother, Where Art Thou?” CD.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I actually did not know they had it there. Yes, it is a wonderful song.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Timelesslady says:

        My grandchildren like it too!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. i love you Sum,know that you are an amazing mother,wife,friend and poet,you are a rockstar,but one who doesn’t sing well..heehee…i love you sweetheart,your kids are special,they are your kids after all,God bless you and your’s …always,ameen.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I promise I do actually sing well. The only problem is and always has been – I am deathly afraid of singing in front of people. I only sing in front of family and once or twice in front of friends. I took singing classes while younger, but did not like to be in the spotlight. I actually grew up wanting to be a singer – but if you are afraid of singing in front of others, you know… It all turned out well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ohhh,I’m sorry that i guessed wrong then,yes i cannot sing in front of anybody because i suck,terribly though i’m always told that i have a nice voice only for talking though,no singing :)) now i know that you sing too,great,hopefully some day you;ll sing in front of me 🙂

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          No worries – I’m just incredibly shy when it comes to singing. Even growing up, my immediate family would hear singing and assume it was the radio. As soon as they would walk in, I’d stop. My children bring out the best in me – I sing to them almost every day (whether they like it or not 🙂 Sometimes joy just needs to be sung.

          Like

  4. leigha66 says:

    Love this… I sang the very same song to my daughter, especially when she couldn’t sleep or was sick. It is amazing to have that link with your child through song. 🙂

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So very true. What I think is funny is how I grew up singing the song – and now I sing it myself for someone else. It changes in meaning. Amazing to have that connection and I do hope my kids carry on the tradition. It is very soothing for both parent and child.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Delyn Merce says:

    This is SO WONDERFUL–I wish I weren’t too old for you to adopt me!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Done – you are now officially adopted 🙂 It would be an honor.

      Like

      1. Delyn Merce says:

        Hahahaha, oh you have added another huge and rich blessing to a wonderful day–thank you! I’ll try not to be too much trouble, keeping my room clean and washing dishes, etc ❤

        Like

  6. cynthiahm says:

    Awe. So sweet. Such a lovely song. I’m not sure if many people still sing to their children but I think it is a lovely thing to do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Yeah, I’m not sure but they love it when I do. If I don’t do it, my son asks my oldest daughter to hum to him 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

