Hyperbole is a Breathless Love Poem

fontcandy-32

 

It was by the lake

Where I first spotted her,

Hair flowing in the summer winds.

She was the dazzling light

On my horizon

And every breath

That escaped my lips

Was filled with one purpose

To sing upon the highest mountains,

“You are loved!”

Her smile eased

The aching of my heart

Reached into my soul

And calmed my spirit.

With her –

There was no sadness

No single moment

Of aimless purpose

I was adrift

Upon the wings of love.

Yet near her,

I stood in awed silence.

 

She, was like a butterfly

Kept in a sealed glass

She desired escape

She wanted to feel

The thunder in her step

To steal upon the winds

And fly.

And I –

I was no match for this

I knew not how

To grow my wings

Nor did I understand

The desire to fly

And soon, her heart

Found another.

 

This is when my

Breath had stopped

My heart stopped beating

And bereft,

I decided to spend my days

Adrift on the open sea.

Before her love,

I had never loved another

And upon my heart is written,

I shall never know it.

I cry in longing

For all I did not understand

And all I could not be.

 

Yesterday,

I landed upon

A foreign shore

Once well-fed and rested,

I walked along the beach

Contemplating my loneliness.

It was there that I first saw her

A glowing ember in the night

Her silhouette a star

Across the darkened sky

And that was when I knew –

Before her love,

I had never loved another

And I shall spend my days

In glorious wandering

Counting the ways

Her beauty

Eases my lonely heart.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Written for The Daily Post Prompt: hyperbole

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Most beautiful Sum,outstanding and touches my heart,i feel inspired to write something with `before her love’ 🙂 love and hugs talented you 🙂

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Why don’t you? I think it would be AWESOME!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I wasn’t lying,that line resulted in the short story/poem I wrote,still love reading,so stopped by 🙂 love and hugs

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          You don’t know how much that makes me smile 🙂 I am honored that something great came out of it 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. it’s passes soon that’s why it’s so beautiful i think,tries to squeeze all that splendor into numbered days 🙂 i’m glad that you have enjoyed some beauty at least 🙂 ❤

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Fantastic! This is lovely 🙂

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you! So glad you liked it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely, as usual. 🙂

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Philip!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Your words are always touching evocative and very moving.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much! So very glad – you never know if it moves others as it moves you.

      Like

      1. That is the truth, isn’t it? You live with your words forever, so they are part of you,and you enjoy them, but you don’t know how it will impact others.

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          I definitely agree. Sometimes, all we can do is hope for the best 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

