Fallen corpses on an autumn landscape

 

growth

 

You have shed

your many-colored tears

across the aching autumn landscape.

The winds have blown

their mighty winds

and even you,

have succumbed to death.

My world is littered with it –

the impermanence of your beauty

the strewn leaves of yesterday

like fallen corpses

that crunch beneath my feet.

Will I remember

Your silent shade?

The shadows play

Beneath your yawning reach?

I know –

and I hope

for your gentle return.

I have learned that

growth is this –

the painful peeling

of layer by layer

where who we are

is slowly replaced

by something new.

But should we be

careful in our gaze,

we shall recognize

ourselves there –

me beneath your shade

in the stolen moments of silence

I witness you grow

and I admire your persistent reach.

 

(c) Sumyanna 2016

 

 

 

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. oh Sum,you always manage to bring me tears,most beautiful and such wisdom…i loved especially `the shadows play beneath your yawning reach’ great work beautiful…love and hugs

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I am ever so entranced by this season, but sadly it quickly fades into grayer skies and grayer landscapes. There is still beauty there – but she sleeps for a while, I think 🙂 It is so funny because our school keeps asking my son to collect leaves to do experiments with, but ours have already fallen and crumbled into nothing. It goes by so very fast…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. it’s passes soon that’s why it’s so beautiful i think,tries to squeeze all that splendor into numbered days🙂 i’m glad that you have enjoyed some beauty at least🙂❤

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          I know what you mean. Just keeps me counting the days to the next one 🙂 It snowed last night, so the romance is over – now to find beauty in the snow!

          Like

  2. Delyn Merce says:

    “You have shed your many-colored tears” is a wonderful opening to a magnificent poem!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so much 🙂 I actually love fall, but unfortunately here it comes and goes very quickly. Don’t blink your eyes or you might miss her beauty!

      Like

      1. Delyn Merce says:

        It seems the seasons are confused all over!

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Yes, they are. I remember when they lasted a little longer.

          Like

  3. paintdigi says:

    Good posts, beautiful blog.
    Congratulations.
    Welcome to see my creations:
    http://paintdigi.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much. I will check it out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

