The Daily Post Prompt: Or –

 

garden

 

I could have given up

In the pursuit of my dreams

Covered myself with my blankets

Hidden myself away

I could have –

Taken every negative word

And wrapped myself

About their truths

Taken every moment

When the world chanted “No!”

Or “Stop!”

Or “You can’t do this”

And failed to try.

But somewhere

In the distance

When I curled myself

Like twisting vines

Around the root

Of who I am –

I learned to grow strong.

Sometimes,

We barely scratch

At the surface

Of mankind’s injustice

We may peel back the label

Of our lives

But barely peek inside.

We carry our tongues

And our actions

Like weightless fools

Of insignificance –

But do you hear

The cries of injustice?

And where does

Our own fault lie?

When will we understand

That the world

Shakes beneath our boots

And that every interaction

Quakes with significance?

And just as we surely needed

Those who would

Gratefully tend our garden rows

While growing up –

While growing old –

And all the moments

In between

We fail to realize –

We also hold a spade and hoe.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Written for The Daily Post Prompt: or

Wonderful image courtesy of Pexels.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Serendipitous Web Life. : ) says:

    This is awesome! You have the heart of a true philosopher! Beautifully expressed! ❤️ : )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

