What’s in a word? Immure –

I seem to always have ideas sprouting from one place or another.  I think this is the way I work best.  One day, I might use an image to rouse my muse and other days, a list of words or just one.  The resulting poem changes, I think – depending on what you use for inspiration and each one has its own strengths and weaknesses.

 

By doing different types of inspired poetry, it seems to help keep my writing more versatile and my subject range more diverse.  I actually like that a lot.  It is not to say I have a method for my madness – this is just where the sparks fly 🙂

 

Today, I decided to try The Word of the Day at Dictionary.com.  Today’s word is immure.

immure

 

Immure

 

There are moments

Like this

When we may choose

To shut ourselves in

Close ourselves off

And shut down

Any possibility

Of feeling.

We slide by,

In driverless mode

We tackle our days

Seeking incoherent silence

Because sometimes –

We feel severed

Laid bare

Drawn and quartered

By what we believe

Is right –

And reality.

Our disjointed dreams

Lay on the dusty floorboards

Of yesterday’s hope

And we want to give in.

Know this –

What is easy

Bears little promise

And sometimes

The blood, sweat and tears

Is necessary.

Growth –

Is a curious thing

And though painful stretches

Have been laid on our paths

Know that change evolves

From the ardent longing

For better days.

Without the pain,

Without the struggle,

We would not see

Our glaring imperfections

We would settle…

We would settle for less.

And no,

We cannot afford

To immure ourselves

Or our dreams

Behind self-inflicted

Extinction.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

 

If anyone is bored and has nothing else to do – I challenge you to write for this same prompt and share it here.  I’d love to see what you make of this word!

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Kavita Chavda says:

    simply amazing ❤

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Delyn Merce says:

    I love every word, first to last! Great poem!!! And a wonderful word!! And now you’ve got me thinking I want to do the Word of the Day too–thanks!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much. I do these only so often. If I had time, I would try to do them every day – but I enjoy the outcome 🙂 It is a challenge and I guess I like challenges.

      Like

      1. Delyn Merce says:

        You’re brilliant always 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved the word prompt. I am not sure if my pingback worked correctly. Here’s the link to what I wrote:

    https://randomthoughtsofmine2016.wordpress.com/2016/11/13/love-so-pure/

    I combined your word prompt and today’s daily prompt “lofty”. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. He was immured in the jail.
    She was immured into getting married.
    They were immured in the shed.
    I don’t want to immure you at all.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Love it – so glad, being forced into anything isn’t easy 🙂 Wonderful take on the prompt Henrietta!

      Like

  5. I have had some decent results with challenges and prompts in recent months. Nothing great, but like you, I an stimulated from a variety of sources.
    I pass on ‘immure.’ You did a good job with it.
    I sometimes struggle with whether or not I just want to use the word or make it somehow part of the core of the poem.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      There are some prompts I pass on – sometimes the word or image just doesn’t move me. It just depends on the prompt and my mood at the time, I guess 🙂 For my writing, I have found that writing for prompts strengthens my skills and makes me tackle topics I normally wouldn’t. I enjoy it, but I know many who do not. I have plenty to write about life itself, but I guess I just like to try many things.

      I know what you mean about how to use a prompt. For me, it depends on how the word moves me. I have written some where the prompt was just the title and others where the word is used in the poem. I guess it is just nice for all the flexibility it gives you. There are no rules.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Henrietta!

      Like

Leave a Reply

