Daily Post Prompt: The Warrior in Me

warrior

 

The mythical beast

Of fantasy

Where the

Knight

In shining armor

Slays

Fire breathing dragons

And saves the lonely girl

Forlorn and weak.

Yet, where is

The woman warrior

That breathes

Beneath my chest?

Whose blood

Fills my veins

With purpose

And vows

A significant fight?

I refuse to shelter

Beneath the footfalls

Of men –

Yes, I shall blaze

My own way,

For I cannot afford

To be afraid –

To be me.

The mythical beast

Of fantasy

May have

Stolen her promise

Her upswept cries

Of indignance

May still go unheard

But the warrior in me

Demands a fair fight

And perhaps,

Her tale

Has yet been spun.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Gorgeous image courtesy of Pexels.

Written for The Daily Post Prompt: mythical

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. 7128788elf says:

    A wonderfully thought out piece, with lots of grace and power. You have great powers, home schooling your children, helping them to understand themselves and see what many other parents see as a problem, as a blessing, and that takes lots of strength and resolve. It is hard to find thje essence of ones self. especially as we get bombarded with so much information, about how we should look, interact, feel, and find ourselves, it all rather stereotyped though, and for women who are often down trodden and dismissed it must be all the more difficult. Best wishes and blessings, Charles.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Fortunately, I know nothing of the need to fight now – aside from people outside the home. However, at a young age I had to learn to fight for myself and it truly is not a strength I take for granted. It is a blessing to feel comfortable with who you are. Just as others outside of me – are a blessing, I am confident that I try my best to do the same for others as best as I can 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 7128788elf says:

        Life seems to send problems, so it is good to know one self and to be able to fight for ones self, and family as well as those in ones community. I am glad that you have no need to fight at the moment, though think with Mr. Trump coming to power, the world is going to be a very different place, with a lot more tension, and the possibility of lots more wars, but I hope not.

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Yes, it does. I know there is a lot to be concerned about, but I guess I hold onto the hope that injustice never prevails in the end. I can only hope that it is true…

          Liked by 1 person

          1. 7128788elf says:

            Yes, it seems all the tyrants eventually fall, but the fall out as we get Trumped on could be very severe, for many in the USA, and certainly for a lots of us living in the rest of the world.

            Like

  2. Serendipitous Web Life. : ) says:

    Yeah! A new favorite. I love it! : )

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So glad you like it! Thanks 🙂

      Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you – so glad you think so!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

