I Have a Voice

I have purred
across the pages
of yesterday’s poetry
a silent mew
among the masses
but I had a voice
I had a voice
and the choice
would be written
on the depths
of my soul –
I am a poet.
Hear me cry
hear me beckon
hear me wail
in the darkness of the night
I shall not hear a pin drop,
but I shall measure
its fall
and its descent
I shall
dance among the stars
and my words
my words
shall never come undone.
No matter – it if seems
a mere whisper
a mewling cry
seeking significance
I have been given a choice –
and my breaths
shall flow
like poetry
swept across
the empty pages
of my unwritten history
with hope and perseverance.

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Pexels.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. 7128788elf says:

    What a wonderful poem, the use of the cheetah or cats as a a metaphor is great, I love this poem. Best wishes and blessings, Charles.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am falling short of words to praise your work every time. At the time when my head is blank about what shall I pen down how you manage to carve beauty every time. Really beautiful, you definitely have a “unique” voice.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you – I am never certain how it is read by others. It means a lot to know my words are well received.

      Like

Leave a Reply

