Are You Up for the Challenge? I’ve Been Prompted #7

Prompts2

 

For those who already know me – I am a sucker for writing prompts.  It matters not if it is a one word prompt, a word list or an image.  I am always trying to find ways to expand my writing and especially my point of view.  Because of this, I usually ask myself to write a poem based on a list of ten words.  I choose them randomly and try to see where the story unfolds.  The curious thing about this exercise is that the poems take on a life of their own.  Where I would normally write from my own perspective – the words always have a mind of their own.  I like this because it causes my writing to grow.

 

Well, enough about me 🙂  I have been posting the word lists here, in case anyone is interested in doing them as well.  If you choose to do the challenge – please add a link to your poem, essay, story, etc. in the comments.  I would love to see what you come up with and I think you will be surprised too.  Next week I will try to post another poem based on this prompt – but I always like to share at least my first attempt here so you can see how I did the challenge.  The “rules” (I’m not that much of a stickler) are posted in the image.

 

You don’t have to feel you have to use all the words, and if you notice this time, I changed one of them slightly to fit the poem 🙂  I hope you enjoy!

 

latestprompt

 

Sing the Song of Possibility

 

Let me unfasten

The struggles

Hanging

From your shoulders

For I understand

The weight you carry

And hang not

Your head,

In shame –

For dreams

Are not only tools

Of the elite.

Let us dream like fools

And pray for flight

For only then –

Will our beauty appear,

Breeze sheltering

Our upturned wings

As our heads

Rest upon the clouds

And we move

In new purpose

Certain in our step.

May we never

Falter in our promise

To believe in our beauty

The knot of uncertainty

Has been torn.

Throw upon the winds

Our somber mood

And let the song of possibility

Fill our lungs

For only then,

Shall we be nearer

To our dreams.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Dearest Sum,i have just posted my poem for this prompt,the link of which is
    http://lifeshues.org/summer/
    sorry I put the link because I’m not sure if the pingback will work(hope I don’t annoy you).
    Thank you very much for the prompt,it’s a wonderful exercise,I hope you like my poem,please take care and have fun,love and eternal hugs 🙂

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Oh! Thank you so much. I am going to do a new one soon. I am going to check it out now. So very glad indeed!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. love this Sum,love both your takes on this prompt,so different…great work girrlie … will show you mine soon Insha Allah ..love and hugs always

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so much – I was glad to have time between the two to get my mind off the older write 🙂 Look forward to seeing yours!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. my pleasure Sum … always 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Serendipitous Web Life. : ) says:

    Yes!! : )

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s a nice idea to challenge your creativity…I love the poem..😊..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

