Daily Post Discover Challenge: Learning to Mind the Gap

gap

 

It was approximately two years ago that I started writing again.  My children were moving to a new school and I wanted to say thank you to the school we were leaving behind.  I figured to send my thanks in the only way I knew how – a poem.  Even though I had stopped writing approximately 20 years prior, I picked up the pen and it felt familiar.  I could not say it is just like remembering to ride a bike – I was rusty, but still – my feelings came across and that was what mattered.

 

For some reason after that – I felt the urge to continue.  I don’t know exactly why, but I started my blog Butterfly Kisses Watermelon Wishes – mostly to share the poetry I had written for my children.  I really did not know what to expect and there was this wide chasm between where I was and what I hoped to accomplish.  Strangely, it was in writing prompts that I found my true voice.  In trying to find ways to bring more people to my blog, I started writing for prompts on a site that is no longer active.  I enjoyed these challenges more that I ever imagined – and I think what truly amazed me was that I could actually write.  I had never expected that.  Sad to think how long I had been silent, now that I look back on it.

 

I had never written much for prompts, except for a writing workshop I had been a part of in high school.  Otherwise, I thought the only reason for writing was to express my own feelings and struggles.  So, when life started turning around – I felt I had nothing to say.  Joining the writing world after so many years has taught me so very much, not only about my writing but also about myself.  I now know – that anything can be turned into a poem and the only thing that keeps us from doing so, is our own inability to see it as a possibility.  Strange to think that writing for a prompt could give you such a powerful lesson.

 

In the beginning, I wrote just for one word prompts.  They were okay – but again, I often fell into the trap of writing mostly what I knew.  I was blinded to other views for the most part.  However, as I started writing for 10 word prompt lists (and I must admit they were harder at first) but I finally started to realize that I had the ability to make stories out of my poetry.  I did not have to live them – but I could breath life into those words.  While part of me may be in all of my poetry, doing prompts expanded my view and allowed my writing to be more free.

 

A year ago or so, I had started to call myself a writer – and actually meant that.  Now, this – I must admit, is an accomplishment for me.  I had crossed a wide chasm of thinking I had no voice – to believing in myself.  You cannot imagine what a gift that has been.  When you falter, when you wonder if you are worth being heard – it is a blessing to know that all those feelings you hold in your heart, the impetus for much of your poetry means something to someone else.  I cannot explain it, but it is a blessing to be able to share my words with you.  Had I never picked up that pen a few years ago, I never would have known.

 

At some point last year, I wanted to post poetry with images – but I struggled because the images were not my own.  Again – I was burdened by another obstacle.  Minding the gap, I stepped across and invented my own type of poetry series “Portraits Poetry.”  What I wanted to accomplish was to interpret the image – and give a person a visual tour through the lines of my poetry.  I wanted to bring the painting alive.  Yeah, had I been a painter – perhaps I would have painted my own images, but that is definitely not in my skill set 🙂  Besides, that probably would have been easier.  Then, I decided not to share the image at all – in the hopes that the words would be enough to paint the image.

 

While this may not seem like much to some – this was another way for me to grow.  It took a lot of effort to bring the image alive and it caused me to focus on every little nuance and detail in the poem.  I also noticed, that when I started writing my own “life experience” poetry, I tended to be more expressive and descriptive.  Again – the writer that I am had been reborn.  For some that may be new to my name – I only started this blog recently in the hopes to rekindle my passion for writing and to take it in a new direction from my older blog.  I finally feel like I have found my voice and feel confident it matters to let my voice be heard.  For me, this is surely a sign of my growth in the past few years.  I hope many of you find it worthwhile as well 🙂

 

So, to me – I think life (and finding yourself as a writer) is a series of “minding those gaps” and finding ways to stretch, grow, and overcome.  I now feel that I walk around the world with my eyes that much wider, trying to soak it all in.  In essence, it is not only something that affects the writer I have become, but I think I walk in more appreciation for the world around me because of it.

 

What are those next gaps ahead?  I just don’t know yet, but I have faith that I will learn to adjust and grow to get past them.  It is a gift – those gaps, and I have hope that they will lead me somewhere wonderful.  I cannot help but hope that not only I have benefited from them, but others will benefit from them as well.  Mind that gap – you never know where it may take you.

 

(c) Sumyanna 2016

Written for The Daily Post Discover Challenge: Mind the Gap

Image courtesy of Morguefile (quicksandala)

 

Some other amazing posts for the Discover Challenge (I will update these as I find more):

When Death Happens, Life Has a Funny Way of Comforting

 

 

16 Comments Add yours

  1. 7128788elf says:

    Hi Sumyanna, interesting take on mind the gap, which I have seen interpreted in many ways. I have only worked from prompt directly a few times, as i work straight from things that I have seen, heard or read in the past few days. Sometimes I write them up soon after seeing, and sometimes let them peculate in the subconscious for a while. I think every writer needs room and the ability to grow, and reach different levels of growth. I find your work, very warm, full of movement, rhythm, feeling and depth, and enjoy reading it every day very much. I have written poems out of our discussions and value these very much. So carry on minding the gaps, and bringing joy to yourself and others, best wishes and blessings, Charles.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Yes, I did not start out writing for prompts at all – just writing from what I knew. I guess for me – I really thrive on keeping things different. I don’t think everyone is the same though. I thoroughly enjoy that you write out of our discussions – I do that sometimes as well. Sometimes, I do actually write from personal experience – or things that are bothering me, or things I am mulling over. I think it all depends on the moment. There always seems to be a moment when I need to change gears. I will write for pictures so often and I just lose that spark so I move to something else. I later return with more energy and enthusiasm, so I guess it is a good thing. I can say I rarely get bored 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 7128788elf says:

        Yes bordem can become a big thing, especially after a long year, when things have been difficult. I often find myself back in the same territory over again, and maybe working from prompts, would help get round that.

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Give it a try, when you can 🙂 I have converted many people over to writing prompts. I think, though, it just depends on what works best for you but it is worth a try.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. 7128788elf says:

            I am in a bit of a rut, and having a rest at the moment, so feel that a prompt may invigorate my writing, so will try it soon. Best wishes and blessings, Charles.

            Like

          2. Sumyanna says:

            It happens to all of us. Sometimes our minds just need a rest 🙂 Hope all goes well!

            Liked by 1 person

          3. 7128788elf says:

            Thanks, I think I am also in a very busy patch just now.

            Like

    2. odell01 says:

      I feel the WordPress prompts are helpful, and I think also observations like what you’ve penned in your comment here are good to lend focus to the writing and to sound out meaning in it. Like when a prompt helps with a starting point, applying some of the focus you’re thinking about helps turn a prompt into finished writing, and adds quality to the writing because the blogger knows what needs to be said to be interesting for people (readers).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 7128788elf says:

        I agree, and many people use the prompts very interestingly (Sumyanna’s work emanating from them is incredibly good and very interesting) I have used prompts before, but usually know hours before what I am going to write in the evening, so find looking up prompts takes time away from my creating a great poem, so don’t do it much. I may do it now as I am in a bit of a rut, and not writing much. I’m sure it will reinvigorate me as a poet and thinker. Thanks for the comment, and enjoyed some of the writing on your blog, so have become a follower. Best wishes and blessings, Charles.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          I usually pick a prompt and give myself a week to write it. However, it seems odd to post the prompt only – so I have been writing before adding the prompt and try to write a new poem in that week. I think I’m a bit behind for the last challenge as far as writing the other poem. Must add that to my to-do list!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. 7128788elf says:

            That seems like a good way to go around it, I have usually dashed something off then and there!

            Like

        2. odell01 says:

          It is kind of you to take an interest in what’s going on here. Poetry is a nice craft because it is versatile (for both the writer and for the reader). Good luck with getting back to your writing, and perhaps what occurs to you as you make merry this holiday season will be the start of something you would have thought to write, but now make the sometimes-hard effort to complete. Whatever transpires, you know you’re a craftsman, and that’s what counts, I believe, if you are putting time into writing poetry, or otherwise.

          Liked by 2 people

          1. 7128788elf says:

            Thank you, I do indeed get a lot of joy and relaxation crafting poems. I tend to have them in my head for a while, then just type them, make a few changes, and then hit the publish button, later if I want to publish them in the type media I revise them again. Best wishes and blessings, Charles.

            Liked by 1 person

  2. odell01 says:

    Great to see you back, Sumyanna! Your post today appeared in my Reader. Your writing is quite nice and it is wonderful that you remain confident despite your long absence from the pen. I like the WordPress prompts because they both provide inspiration, and also help mould a blogging effort in a direction that other people are likewise tangling with. I will visit this week’s Discover prompt to see if it applies to me. I realize that you are a poet, which is a hard calling to master. The poetry courses offered by WordPress are both free and easy to carry out, so maybe signing up for one of those is something you should consider. It is up to you! I’ll continue to follow you to see what develops as you refamiliarize yourself with the blogging craft.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so much. Yes! So glad it seems to be working 🙂 I really enjoy the prompts as well and find them a good way to find really wonderful content. As of yet, I have hardly been disappointed. Thank you for the opportunity and your suggestions.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. odell01 says:

        Good luck to you as you continue to blog, and do keep renewing yourself as a writer. You seem like you are on the right track! Have a happy holiday

        Like

Leave a Reply

