Daily Post Prompt: Flatline

retry

 

De-fibrillate my heart
get the paddles ready
for I swim between consciousness
and somehow, I feel numb.
It is not that sadness envelopes
nor that anger rages wild
but there is a silence
that dwells
the pulse fades
and the blood has lost its vigor
and nothing can stop it.
I’m searching for electric shock
perhaps to drag out this feeling
to warp and tear the seams
to free what dwells within
– no name for it
no words can explain
but it’s there
get the paddles ready
before my heart fades
into flatline.

(c) Sumyanna 2015

 

Submitted for The Daily Post Prompt: vigor

Wonderful image courtesy of Pexels.com

2 Comments Add yours

  1. blogblog65 says:

    I felt flatlined after gorging on turkey Thursday. Feeling better now. Hope you just have the Monday blahs.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      No worries! No flatline here. I wrote this in response to another poet’s poem I had read. It has been a while now, so I don’t know exactly what struck me in the poem – but this was my response 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

