There’s Nothing More Fearless, than Being Yourself

yourself

 

I shall speak with golden tongue

and fear not, if others understand

I shall speak in whispers

above the roar of the world

and never fret, nor fill my days with sorrow.

If others misunderstand,

it is not my task

to fill in the gaps

to meekly follow

the tread of passersby –

for I am unafraid.

I don’t mind – failure

for many say I dwelled there

despite my fret and struggle

and I was too young

to understand.

They filled

their words with hate

every step bore untruths

and salt was rubbed

in aching wounds.

Deserved? No,

but they didn’t care.

I was foolish then –

too naive

I believed the words

and wrapped myself

in their wounds

daunted

by every breath and sigh,

but time has a way

of healing all wounds

and for those that listen

– perhaps a little wisdom.

I’ll never stray from truth again

For though I may not sing the same song

nor know all the right steps

in this dance called life

it is my own

~ I own it ~

It does not own me

And neither do those

With shallow hearts

Too afraid to see me for what I am

Perhaps too distracted to care

I seek not approval – nor praise

For I know those words often fall

From insincere tongues

And back turned, they conspire

Let them duel themselves to death

To the top of the hill

For when they finally conquer its peaks

Perhaps then, they shall understand

There’s nothing more fearless

Than being yourself.

 

© Sumyanna 2015

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Pexels.com

13 Comments Add yours

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Serendipitous Web Life. : ) says:

    I agree, this is so encouraging! I world filled with words like this, would be a better world. ❤️️. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      We can always hope 🙂 I do think it would make a huge difference.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Very beautiful. I also love your picture! tyvm

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you. It is not my photo – I found it online, but it went well with the poem, I think and I put the title there 🙂 Man, wish I could take photos like that.

      Like

      1. I know, I used to but can’t now, but I sooooo love them

        Liked by 1 person

  3. plainmama says:

    Excellent thoughts and writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. jash palande says:

    Beautifully written 👌

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

