Daily Post Prompt: I Can’t Breathe…

fontcandy-10
I wish to breathe
the air on a summer’s morning
grass wet with dew
the fresh scent of jasmine vines
that curl across backyard fences
I close my eyes
but I can’t breathe,
I can’t breathe –
I can’t smell the scent
It is a fading memory
fading . . .
and soon long gone
I close my eyes
and all I have left
are dreams
of scents
textures
images
they traipse
through my mind
and with quick glances
they are gone
I wish to breathe
the air on a summer’s morning
I close my eyes,
but I can’t breathe.

(c) Sumyanna 2016

This poem was originally written for an image.
Beautiful photo courtesy of Pexels.com
3 Comments Add yours

  1. Henrietta Watson says:

    A very nice poem. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much.

      Like

      1. Henrietta Watson says:

        You are welcome!

        Like

Leave a Reply

