Photography: Getting Beautifully Distracted (Part #1)

This past weekend, we decided to take the kids up to the mountains to walk where there are dinosaur prints and fossils.  It was a nice walk and the prints and fossils were nice, but I have to say I was more enamored by the view.  There were plants I had not seen before and some of the plants, while in decay – were just beautiful in their form.

 

I know, once again I look a bit foolish (I guess that’s just my thing).  Everyone was trudging up to see the footprints and fossils and barely gave their surroundings a single glance.  I was stopping all along the way, noticing the remainder of leaves, the stems of wildflowers, the tall grasses surrounding the area.  Yes, there were stares, but what is life without them?  Don’t worry – I was not alone.  My two oldest daughters were trailing me around with their own cameras (oh, what have I started?!?)  My husband and the two youngest just ran up to the top and waited.  It was rather cool in the shade so they ran up to soak in what sun was left in the day.  They were cold – I was distracted 🙂

 

So, I give you my beautiful view.  Oh, and another thing – I am still learning about my camera.  However, I take it out all the time with me, because I don’t have the time to read beyond helping the kids get through their school day.  I guess you could say I am learning on the go.  Needless to say, I found out *by accident* that I could change my camera’s settings to take black and white photographs.  Seems I accidentally hit the button.  I’ve still got a lot to learn – because from what I can tell, what to look for in black and white photographs is a bit different (at least in my view).  I hope you don’t mind that I share my mistakes 🙂

 

img_4211-2

 

img_4215-2

 

img_4221-2

 

img_4235-2

 

img_4239-2

 

img_4256-2

 

img_4272-2

 

img_4278-2

7 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    I love black and white for nature prints… look at some of Ansel Adams work it is amazing. Keep taking those breaks upon the paths you walk. Beautiful pictures!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Yes, I love Ansel Adams work as well. I remember looking through print after print while younger (but I have no idea where I found them). Before that, I had never known the beauty of black and white photographs. There is just something about them. On taking these photos, I have learned that there is definitely more to taking good black and white photos than just point and shoot 🙂 Lots to learn!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely photos – I like the black and white

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Yes, I actually really liked it – and just wished I had known before hand that my camera could do that 🙂 Will have to practice more with it. Thank you!

      Like

  3. qwietpleez says:

    Beautiful photographs, it sounds like a wonderful day . . .

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      It actually really was a perfect day. Even thought it was a bit cold – the view was amazing.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

