What I Hope to Say I Have Taught You

plant

This poem was written for an image prompt – and essentially wraps up exactly what I wish I will be able to say I have taught my own children.

 

Barely before
I had taken my first breath,
Mama had taught me
the love of something
beyond myself.
Her arms cradled me,
gave me warmth
and her unrelenting love
gifted me
assurances of my worth.
She taught me –
that to be strong,
meant to
mind your impact
beware the traces
I leave behind
and to know
that those who are hopeless
need a little of our light
to carry on –
to stretch forth –
and find renewed hope.
To love
is no small task
and sometimes
it is fraught with worry,
but it is the greatest gift
ever given and received.
Mama taught me
to reach out
to believe
in my hopes and dreams
for possibility clings
at the edges of my fingertips
waiting for me
to plant the seed.

© Sumyanna 2016

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Such a lovely poem. I am glad I read it 😊

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So glad you enjoyed it. Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful and an inspiration to all mothers

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

