Poetic Responses – I’ve Been Prompted #7

Prompts2

 

I asked everyone to write for a list of ten words a while ago and didn’t hear anything, but I thought I’d share that yes, I have finally written again for the prompt.  It took me a while longer.  One of the things I worry about is being affected by the mindset I had when I wrote the first poem.  I thought if I gave myself enough time, the poem would turn into something different (and I believe it has).  I was only able to make 9 words work for this poem.  To me – elite could have been used in some way, but I did not want to change the mood or message of the poem.

 

Remember what I said though – the challenge is to use as many words as you can.  You do not have to use all of them.  What is important is that you use the worlds to take your imagination somewhere.  While I do write poetry about the seasons and nature often – I feel that this poem’s wording was highly influenced by the words I had to work with, so I am completely happy with the result.

 

Here is the list, in case you have missed it:

 

latestprompt

 

Biding Our Time

 

The somber mood of winter

Rushes in with the cold

The winds whip and whirl

Across the landscape.

Leaves take flight

Get caught on branches

Trapped on twisted metal fences

And lay scattered

On yellowed grasses

That soon will be full of snow.

The vast swaths of sky

Fool the heart

From time to time

Where small, intermittent patches

Of blue appear

Hanging gayfully

Among the grey.

Is this the promise

Of much needed warmth?

A sunny day

Betwixt the long, cold days

Of winter?

Will the forgotten geese

No longer take flight

But nestle nearby?

Shall we

Unfasten our jackets

Hide our mittens

And stroll the parks

Hand in hand

Reminiscent of the days

When leaves swayed gently

In the autumn breeze?

Now, the trees

Lay naked and barren

Aching wooden appendages

Reaching toward the sky

And things once hidden from view

Seem stark and cold in return

There is an emptiness here

We can feel it in our bones

We can see it in

The swathes of grey

That streak across the skyline

And settles somewhere

Within our hearts.

The promise of sunshine

Is temporarily pushed aside

And we tie the knot

Of our fortitude

Biding our time

Because the seasons

Have taught us

To always believe

The birth

Of a brand new day

Shall arise

And bring along with it

Sunshine.

 

© Sumyanna 2016

 

Here is a link to the other poem I originally posted for this prompt.

 

If you still want to write for the prompt, please do so.  If I get any takers I will add the links to their blog post here.

 

Thank you for joining in Isabel Caves.  I truly enjoyed your prose piece.  It kept me in suspense 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. beautiful poem Sum,I cannot wait to start writing for these 🙂 thank you…love and hugs always

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I am also excited! I have yet to start 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Another lovely poem. I haven’t written for the prompt and it hardly ever snows in Africa, but here is a link to a poem I wrote about an African thunderstorm https://robbiesinspiration.wordpress.com/an-african-thunderstorm-a-poem/

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      You don’t have to write the same theme or style. The challenge is only to try to use the ten words (as long as you use 3 that is great) and make something of it 🙂 I would say I would not miss the cold of winter, but after reading your poem, I don’t think I would want to replace it with storms. Sounds like it might be rather scary at times. Thank you so much for sharing. It is always wonderful to learn a little more about other places. We sometimes think everything is the same.

      Like

  3. Isabel Caves says:

    I’ve written a short piece of prose for the prompt. I just let my imagination take me where it wanted, so it isn’t a work of genius, but I had fun writing it. I managed to use 7 of the words.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much for joining in 🙂 I was getting a little lonely here. I really enjoyed your write. I will add a link above too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

