We Yearn for Warmer Days

Sometimes winter just doesn’t bring the best out of me.  There, I’ve said it 🙂  Actually I am okay but it can be hard being surrounded by harsh gray winter skies and cold that nips at your skin.  It is not only the cold outside that I worry about – but also that cabin fever that sets in from hiding out from the cold.  Thus is life.

 

Truthfully, I don’t hate all that winter has in store for me.  I wish I could get out more – possibly try skiing (cross country as I’m not that adventurous to be zipping in and out down a mountain) and even snowshoeing.  The problem is – my family hates the cold and every time my husband steps out in the winter air, he ends up getting sick.  Every time we go out somewhere, people are coughing and hacking up a storm and not much later, my kids are sick.  Next is my turn and then we seem to go at it again.

 

To me though, there is nothing more perfect in my mind that watching snow gently traipse across the sky.  There is nothing more beautiful than new-fallen snow across the landscape and being the first person to step and make tracks or to find that your tracks alone mix with the tracks of rabbits and deer.  Before going to sleep each night, my favorite thing is to stand and look out my window.  In the winter time, the view is all the more glorious and it is almost as if the sun is shining.  The moon beats down and is reflected on the snow below.  A beautiful glow surrounds everything.

 

Growing up, we used to live in the mountains of Jersey.  There, the snow was deep.  We would go down the mountain and see snow hanging daintily upon the forest of fir trees.  If you stood still long enough, you would see it slowly drip and plod a path downward.  To me, it is almost magical.  I’m not sure in which extreme you find yourself.  To me, I am conflicted.  At moments, I find myself blessed to be surrounded by the beauty of winter.  Other times I am trudging through the slush or longingly staring outside.  I guess this is just what life is about.  We have moments to weigh against one another and when we have trouble, it helps us to cherish the good times that much more.

 

We Yearn for Warmer Days

October is the coldest month
It slowly fades to winter
We mourn the loss of many
And we sadly await their return
Our hopes wilt and whither
And cold sets in.

Fallen leaves shrivel and die
For all of us shall come to this
Their time is now fleeting
And trees now face the wind
Exposed and alone
They wail beneath the gloomy skies
And yearn for warmer days.

The azure blue skies of summer
Now weak and weary
Hide beneath cloaks of gray
It’s cold and stony stare
Leaves the heart to shiver
We mourn the absence of the sun
And yearn for warmer days.

The call of morning songbirds
Do fill the days of distant shores
Here, their song is heard no more
Even they have said their goodbyes
In solemn exit, they painted the sky
And left us wanting
We yearn for warmer days.

The chill sets in
Sits deep beneath the bones
No warmth can fill these gaps
And we traipse and trudge quickly
For fear all heat is lost
And we grasp unending shiver
We yearn for warmer days

Breezes blow
And sets the chill in our hearts
Freezes what was already frozen
Its ceaseless melody plays upon the hills
The voice of grief and longing
It seeks to no end, a sorrowful tale
We yearn for warmer days.

© Sumyanna 2015

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Pexels.com

7 Comments Add yours

  1. manyblankpages says:

    I’ve never experienced snow before. I’ve dreamed about it many times before. But now, I don’t even want to plan my vacations on cold countries.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I promise it isn’t all bad 🙂 Some people really love it, but I guess I am just a Spring and Summer kind of person.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I cannot stand the cold though I find the snow very beautiful…i think this is my most favourite of your poems yet Sum,very masterfully written…applause 🙂 makes me sigh too …love and hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you – so glad you liked it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. i loved it and my pleasure 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Very nice poem. Its hard to think of it being so cold when it is so very hot here in South Africa.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I’ve been to places that don’t have winter (at least normally). It seems so strange to me as we expect it to be the same as where we come from. There are places here that are also warm most of the time but might get a bit cooler during winter. I love winter, but then I don’t completely. It is odd to say. I love some aspects of it, I guess 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

